South African Rugby
Smit signs with SARU to 2011
February 8, 2010
Springboks captain John Smit in relaxed mood, South Africa training session, Brisbane Boys College, Brisbane, Australia, September 1, 2009
John Smit will be with South Africa until 2011 © Getty Images

Springbok skipper John Smit has led 10 players in signing national contracts with the South African Rugby Union (SARU) through to the Rugby World Cup in 2011.

The reigning champions will now likely head to New Zealand with their skipper as well as their experienced core of Victor Matfield, Bakkies Botha, Schalk Burger, Fourie du Preez, Jaque Fourie, Bryan Habana, JP Pietersen, Juan Smith and Pierre Spies, who all committed their futures.

A further nine players have been granted one-year deals, with Andries Bekker, Heinrich Brussow, Bismarck du Plessis, Adrian Jacobs, Tendai Mtawarira, Wynand Olivier, Ruan Pienaar, Danie Rossouw and Morne Steyn all retained. Any further players called up by coach Peter de Villiers will receive pro-rata payments.

Overseas players such as Munster's Jean de Villiers and Racing Metro's Frans Steyn have not been considered. The Boks play their first Test of 2010 against France at Newlands in June ahead of the Tri-Nations.


Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.