Wales v Scotland, Six Nations, February 13
Gatland and Robinson shuffle their packs
February 11, 2010
Wales wing Leigh Halfpenny, Wales v England, Six Nations, Millennium Stadium, February 14, 2009
Leigh Halfpenny returns to the Wales starting line-up © Getty Images
Related Links
Tournaments/Tours: Six Nations
Teams: Scotland | Wales

Wales coach Warren Gatland has made two changes to his side for the visit of Scotland to the Millennium Stadium on Saturday, with Leigh Halfpenny and Jonathan Thomas claiming starting berths.

Dragons lock Luke Charteris and Blues wing Tom James are the players to miss out as Ospreys lock Alun-Wyn Jones is given a chance to atone for his costly yellow card in defeat to England at Twickenham last weekend.

Thomas slots directly into the second-row alongside his club team-mate, while Halfpenny joins Lee Byrne and Shane Williams in the back-three. Both Charteris and James miss out on the 22 altogether as Blues duo Sam Warburton and Tom Shanklin are promoted to the bench.

Gethin Jenkins has recovered from a calf injury but must make do with a place among the replacements as Paul James joins Gareth Williams and Adam Jones in an unchanged front-row.

Chris Paterson will win his 100th cap for Scotland at fullback, while Phil Godman has been replaced by Glasgow's Dan Parks after a poor showing against France. Andy Robinson's men suffered a late blow ahead of the game with Nathan Hines ruled out due to calf and ankle problems.

Leinster star Hines will be replaced at the Millennium Stadium by Edinburgh's Jim Hamilton, who has only recently recovered from a long-term knee problem.

Wales: L Byrne (Ospreys); L Halfpenny (Cardiff Blues), J Hook (Ospreys), J Roberts (Cardiff Blues), S Williams (Ospreys); S Jones (Scarlets), G Cooper (Cardiff Blues); P James (Ospreys), G Williams (Cardiff Blues), A Jones (Ospreys), J Thomas (Ospreys), A-W Jones (Ospreys), A Powell (Cardiff Blues), M Williams (Cardiff Blues), R Jones (Ospreys, capt)

Replacements: H Bennett (Ospreys), G Jenkins (Cardiff Blues), B Davies (Cardiff Blues), S Warburton (Cardiff Blues), R Rees (Cardiff Blues), A Bishop (Ospreys), T Shanklin (Cardiff Blues)

Scotland: C Paterson (Edinburgh); T Evans (Glasgow), S Lamont (Scarlets), G Morrison (Glasgow), R Lamont (Toulon); D Parks (Glasgow), C Cusiter (Glasgow, capt); A Dickinson (Gloucester), R Ford (Edinburgh), E Murray (Northampton), J Hamilton (Edinburgh), A Kellock (Glasgow), K Brown (Glasgow), J Barclay (Glasgow), J Beattie (Glasgow).

Replacements: S Lawson (Gloucester), A Jacobsen (Edinburgh), R Gray (Glasgow), A MacDonald (Edinburgh), M Blair (Edinburgh), P Godman (Edinburgh), M Evans (Glasgow)


Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.