Italy v Scotland, Six Nations, February 27
Re-jigged Scotland face unchanged Italy
February 25, 2010
Scotland fullback Hugo Southwell passes, Scotland v France, Six Nations, Murrayfield, February 7, 2010
Hugo Southwell returns at fullback for Scotland © PA Photos
Related Links
Players/Officials: Nick Mallett | Andy Robinson
Tournaments/Tours: Six Nations
Teams: France | Italy

Scotland coach Andy Robinson has been forced to make four changes to his side to face Italy in the Six Nations at the Stadio Flaminio on Saturday. The Scots desperately need to bounce back following their last-gasp defeat to Wales at the Millennium Stadium in the last round, but must do so without a number of front-line players.

With serious injuries ruling Chris Paterson, Thom Evans and Rory Lamont out of the remainder of the tournament, Robinson has called Stade Francais fullback Hugo Southwell, Ulster wing Simon Danielli and Glasgow's Max Evans into the starting XV. There is also a change at loosehead, where Allan Jacobsen starts in place of Alasdair Dickinson.

Italy are unchanged for the game. Salvatore Perugini, Leonardo Ghiraldini and Martin Castrogiovanni start in the front-row while there is a boost on the bench as Carlo Antonio Del Fava returns from injury. He will provide back-up to Quintin Geldenhuys and Marco Bortolami.

Alessandro Zanni put in an inspirational shift at No.8 against England and is joined in the back-row by Mauro Bergamasco and Josh Sole. Mirco Bergamasco looks set to retain the kicking duties, with further options in Craig Gower at fly-half and Luke McLean at fullback.

Italy: L McLean (Benetton Treviso); A Masi (Racing Metro Paris), G Canale (Clermont-Auvergne), G Garcia (Benetton Treviso), M Bergamasco (Stade Francais); C Gower (Bayonne), T Tebaldi (Gran Parma); S Perugini (Bayonne), L Ghiraldini (Benetton Treviso), M Castrogiovanni (Leicester), Q Geldenhuys (Viadana), M Bortolami (Gloucester), J Sole (Viadana), M Bergamasco (Stade Francais), A Zanni (Benetton Treviso)

Replacements: F Ongaro (Saracens), M Aguero (Saracens), C Del Fava (Viadana), P Derbyshire (Petrarca Padova), P Canavosio (MPS Viadana), R Bocchino (Rovigo), K Robertson (Viadana)

Scotland: H Southwell (Stade Francais); S Danielli (Ulster), M Evans (Glasgow), G Morrison (Glasgow), S Lamont (Scarlets); D Parks (Glasgow), C Cusiter (Glasgow, capt); A Jacobsen (Edinburgh), R Ford (Edinburgh), E Murray (Northampton), J Hamilton (Edinburgh), A Kellock (Glasgow), K Brown (Glasgow), J Barclay (Glasgow), J Beattie (Glasgow)

Replacements: S Lawson (Gloucester), A Dickinson (Gloucester), N Hines (Leinster), A Strokosch (Gloucester), M Blair (Edinburgh), P Godman (Edinburgh), N De Luca (Edinburgh)


Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.