IRB Awards
Fourie scoops Try of the Year honour
March 7, 2010
South Africa replacement Jaque Fourie dives over to score in the corner, South Africa v British & Irish Lions, Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria, South Africa, June 27, 2009
Fourie touches down for a crucial try during the Springboks' second Test victory over the British & Irish Lions © Getty Images

South Africa's Jaque Fourie has won the 2009 International Rugby Players Association Try of the Year for his effort in the second Test victory over the British & Irish Lions in Pretoria.

The Springboks' centre fought off stiff competition from some of the biggest names in the game to claim the prestigious award after winning an online vote hosted by the International Rugby Board with nearly 8,000 votes cast in the process.

Fourie's try, scored in the 74th minute of the nail-biting encounter at Loftus Versfeld in June, sealed a dramatic series victory for the Springboks, who went on to be named IRB Team of the Year. Fourie, who was presented with his award after the Stormers versus Otago Highlanders Super 14 match in Cape Town on Saturday, said that the accolade was recognition of the superb team ethic within the Springboks squad.

"It is fantastic to win this award and I am honoured to receive it. I would like to thank everyone who took the time to vote online. This try demonstrates the value of team work and working for each other to achieve something very special, and made it such a privilege to be part of the Sprinboks team and the Lions Series last summer," said Fourie.

Shane Williams (2), Vincent Clerc, Jamie Heaslip, Mils Muliaina, Isaac Ross, Ma'a Nonu, Cedric Heymans, Rob Kearney, Berrick Barnes, Imanol Harinordoquy, Lee Byrne, Gonzalo Camacho and Alexander Yanyushkin were scorers of the other shortlisted tries.

Fourie follows in the fleeted footsteps of Ireland captain Brian O'Driscoll who scooped the award in 2008 and Takudzwa Ngwenya of the USA who claimed the inaugural award in 2007.

Try of the Year: South Africa's Jacque Fourie scores against the British & Irish Lions

IRPA Try of the Year nominations:
Australia's Berrick Barnes v New Zealand, July 18, 2009
Wales' Lee Byrne v France, February 27, 2009
Argentina's Gonzalo Camacho v England, June 13, 2009
South Africa's Jacque Fourie v British & Irish Lions, June 27, 2009
France's Imanol Harinordoquy v Ireland, February 7, 2009
Ireland's Jamie Heaslip v France, February 7, 2009
France's Cedric Heymans v New Zealand, June 20, 2009
British & Irish Lions' Rob Kearney v South Africa, June 27, 2009
New Zealand's Ma'a Nonu v Australia, August 22, 2009
New Zealand's Isaac Ross v South Africa, August 1, 2009
British & Irish Lions' Shane Williams v South Africa, July 4, 2009
Russia's Alexander Yanyushkin v Uruguay, June 21, 2009
France's Vincent Clerc v South Africa, November 13, 2009
Wales' Shane Williams v Argentina, November 21, 2009
New Zealand's Mils Muliaina v France, November 28, 2009


Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.

  • Football

  • Cricket

  • Rugby

    • Days
    • Hrs
    • Mins
    • Secs

    F1 - Azerbaijan GP

  • OtherLive >>

    Snooker - China Open
    Tennis - Miami Open