Australia v Ireland, Brisbane, June 26
Kidney rings changes as Deans sticks to guns
June 24, 2010

Ireland coach Declan Kidney has made six changes to the starting line-up that was soundly beaten by the All Blacks for Saturday's one-off Test against Australia in Brisbane.

No.8 Chris Henry has been handed his first cap for the tourists in the absence of suspended team-mate Jamie Heaslip. Henry will form a new-look back-row alongside Niall Ronan and Shane Jennings, who replaces the injured John Muldoon (broken arm) and David Wallace, who is absent on paternity leave. In the only other change to the pack, tighthead prop Tony Buckley comes in for John Hayes who has been left out of the match-day 22.

In the backs, Jonathan Sexton's outstanding display in last Friday's narrow loss to New Zealand Maori was enough to earn him the No.10 jersey at the expense of Ronan O'Gara. Inside centre Paddy Wallace also did enough as part of a second string Ireland side against the Maori to force his way back into the Test line-up ahead of Gordon D'Arcy.

Meanwhile, Rhys Ruddock and Damien Varley are set to make their Test debut's after being named on the Ireland bench.

Following Australia's narrow loss to England in Sydney, Robbie Deans made just two injury-enforced changes to his side ahead of Saturday's match but was later forced into another.

Adam Ashley-Cooper replaces injured winger Digby Ioane (shoulder), while in-form half-back Luke Burgess returns at No. 9 in place of Will Genia (hand). Ioane requires surgery after dislocating his shoulder in the 63rd minute of last weekend's narrow loss to England, while Genia is facing a six-week layoff and will miss the start of the Tri-Nations tournament after suffering a broken thumb in the same match.

In the latest change, veteran lock Nathan Sharpe was ruled out of the game with a back complaint to be replaced by the Brumbies' Mark Chisholm. Uncapped Mitchell Chapman is drafted into the replacements.

Ireland: R Kearney (Leinster); T Bowe (Ospreys), B O'Driscoll capt (Leinster), P Wallace (Ulster), A Trimble (Ulster); J Sexton (Leinster), O'Leary (Munster); C Healy (Leinster), S Cronin (Connacht), T Buckley (Munster), D O'Callaghan (Munster), M O'Driscoll (Munster), N Ronan (Munster), S Jennings (Leinster), C Henry (Ulster).

Replacements: D Varley (Munster), T Court (Ulster), Tuohy (Ulster), R Ruddock (Leinster), E Reddan (Leinster), R O'Gara (Munster), G Murphy (Leicester).

Australia: J O'Connor (Western Force), D Mitchell (NSW Waratahs), R Horne (NSW Waratahs), M Giteau (ACT Brumbies), A Ashley-Cooper (ACT Brumbies), Q Cooper (Queensland Reds), L Burgess (NSW Waratahs), R Brown (Western Force), D Pocock (Western Force), R Elsom (ACT Brumbies), M Chisholm (Brumbies), D Mumm (NSW Waratahs), S Ma'afu (ACT Brumbies), S Faingaa (Queensland Reds), B Daley (Queensland Reds).

Replacements: H Edmonds (ACT Brumbies), J Slipper (Queensland Reds), M Chapman (ACT Brumbies), M Hodgson (Western Force), J Valentine (ACT Brumbies), B Barnes (NSW Waratahs), K Beale (NSW Waratahs).

Referee: Bryce Lawrence (NZ)

Assistant referees: Chris Pollock (NZ), Wayne Barnes (England)
Television Match Official: TBC


Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.

  • Football

  • Cricket

  • Rugby

    • Days
    • Hrs
    • Mins
    • Secs

    F1 - Mexican GP

  • OtherLive >>

    Boxing - Nelson v Wilson; Simmons v Dickinson; Joshua v Gavern (Metro Radio Arena, Newcastle)
    Golf - Houston Open
    Snooker - China Open
    Tennis - Miami Open