Scottish Rugby
Former Scotland stars honoured
November 5, 2010
Former Scotland internationals Jim Telfer and Finlay Calder pose in the Murrayfield changing room, Scotland Hall of Fame Dinner, Murrayfield, Edinburgh, Scotland, November 4, 2010
Former international Jim Telfer and Finlay Calder pose in the Murrayfield changing rooms © Getty Images
Related Links
Teams: Scotland

Gavin Hastings and Sir Ian McGeechan were among the first 12 personalities inducted into Scottish Rugby's Hall of Fame on Thursday night.

Jim Telfer, Bill McLaren and Finlay Calder were also among those honoured at a dinner in Murrayfield. Eight of the dozen were chosen for their contribution to different eras of the Scottish game, with the rest handed special awards by the panel.

David Bedell-Sivright was selected for his achievements in the early 20th century. A surgeon by profession, he achieved the unmatched feat of playing in three Triple Crown-winning sides for Scotland. He later became Scottish heavyweight amateur boxing champion before dying in active service at Gallipoli.

Centre Phil Macpherson was honoured for captaining Scotland to their first Grand Slam in 1925, while counter-attacking full-back Ken Scotland was the first international from the post-war period to be selected.

Sandy Carmichael, the first forward to hit the 50-cap mark for Scotland, was also selected alongside his former Lions team-mate Andy Irvine, who scored 273 points for Scotland.

Former Lions captains Calder and Hastings, the leading points scorer of his generation, were joined by McGeechan, their Grand Slam-winning coach of 1990.

Special awards went to Ned Haig, the Melrose butcher who invented the sevens game, and popular commentator McLaren.

Jim Telfer, who helped coach Scotland to two Grand Slam wins and their last Five Nations triumph in 1999, was also handed a special award along with the late Gordon Brown, who won 30 caps for Scotland and made eight Lions appearances in the 1970s.

The list was selected by former Scotland internationals McGeechan, John Jeffrey, John Beattie, Chris Rea and Norman Mair.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.