Ireland v France, Six Nations, March 9
Ronan O'Gara dropped by Ireland
ESPN Staff
March 3, 2013
Ireland's Ronan O'Gara sees his late conversion attempt strike the post, Ireland v South Africa, autumn international, Aviva stadium, Dublin, Ireland, November 6, 2010
Ronan O'Gara's 130 Test international career may have reached an end © Getty Images

Ronan O'Gara's international career could be over after he was left out of Ireland's training squad for next weekend's Six Nations clash with France.

The 36-year-old fly-half, Ireland's most capped player with 130 Test appearances including two for the British & Irish Lions, has been dropped with injury doubt Jonathan Sexton, Paddy Jackson and Ian Madigan the three playmakers included in coach Declan Kidney's 32-man party.

O'Gara struggled in Ireland's defeat to England last month, having stepped up off the bench to replace the injured Sexton, and he was over-looked for the following clash against Scotland with Jackson handed the No.10 jersey. O'Gara, who has not started a game for his country since the 2011 Rugby World Cup, did appear as a replacement against the Scots but he was unable to turn the game in his side's favour with an ill-timed cross kick in his own half drawing widespread criticism.

Ulster's Jackson only won his first cap against Scotland and struggled with his goal-kicking while Madigan, of Leinster, has yet to represent his country. Sexton, meanwhile, seems unlikely to feature after team manager Mick Kearney on Thursday rated his chances as "somewhat less than 50-50".

Like Sexton, locks Mike McCarthy and Donnacha Ryan and wing Craig Gilroy are included in the party despite struggling with injuries, but centre Darren Cave and Under 20 back Robbie Henshaw miss out due to concussion.

Ireland squad:

Rory Best (Ulster),
Sean Cronin (Leinster), Robbie Diack (Ulster), Keith Earls (Munster), Luke Fitzgerald (Leinster), Declan Fitzpatrick (Ulster), Craig Gilroy (Ulster), Cian Healy (Leinster), Jamie Heaslip (Leinster), Iain Henderson (Ulster), Paddy Jackson (Ulster), Dave Kearney (Leinster), Rob Kearney (Leinster), David Kilcoyne (Munster), Ian Madigan (Leinster), Luke Marshall (Ulster), MIke McCarthy (Connacht), Fergus McFadden (Leinster), Conor Murray (Munster), Sean O'Brien (Leinster), Donncha O'Callaghan (Munster), Tommy O'Donnell (Munster), Brian O'Driscoll (Leinster), Peter O'Mahony (Munster), Eoin O'Malley (Leinster), Eoin Reddan (Leinster), Mike Ross (Leinster), Donnacha Ryan (Munster), Jonathan Sexton (Leinster), Andrew Trimble (Ulster), Devin Toner (Leinster), Dan Tuohy (Ulster)

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.