World Club 7s
World Clubs 7s set for Twickenham bow
ESPN Staff
August 16, 2013
Gloucester qualified for the World Club 7s after winning the J.P Morgan Asset Management Premiership Rugby Sevens Series © PA Photos

The inaugural World Club 7s kicks off at Twickenham on Saturday as teams from all around the globe seek to establish themselves as the best domestic Sevens side in the world.

The tournament draws teams from all around the world with the Aviva Premiership heavily represented with JP Morgan Sevens Series winners Gloucester featuring alongside Northampton Saints and Harlequins. From South Africa, the Blue Bulls and the Western Province have journeyed across while the Brumbies have come from Down Under.

New Zealand is represented by Auckland and the unique nature of the tournament also sees teams from Russia (VVA Saracens Moscow and Kuban Krasnador), America (New York and San Francisco) and Argentina (Buenos Aries) taking part.

The 12 teams are split into three Pools with the top two sides in each group qualifying automatically for the quarter-finals which take place on Sunday. The two third-placed with the most points will also take their place in the knockout stages while the rest will contest for the Shield. Those that lose in the final eight will still have a chance for some silverware as they go for the Plate with all three trophies, alongside the main tournament, awarded to the winners on Sunday.

Much of the inspiration behind the new tournament is the inclusion of Sevens in the 2016 Olympics. And Premiership Rugby CEO Mark McCafferty hopes to see some top class rugby at Twickenham over the weekend. He said: "Rugby is about to enter a unique era for the sport with Sevens - which is finally returning to the Olympics - at the centre of what we believe will be a huge growth in all forms of the game.

"Rugby's long-awaited return to the Olympics means that many of the players who could be battling it out for gold in Rio in 2016 will be on show at Twickenham on 17-18 August."

Pool A

Gloucester: Martyn Thomas, Apo Satala, Dan Robson, Akapusi Qera, Andrew Bulumakau, Matt Cox, Nevaro Codlin, Gareth Evans, Rhodri McAtee, Billy Burns, Steph Reynolds, Drew Cheshire

VVA Saracens Moscow: Artem Marchenko, Ilya Demushkin, Mikhail Babaev, Ilya Babaev , Dmitry Perov , Igor Klyuchnikov, Nikolay Goroshilov, Aleksandr Ianiushkin, Alexander Gudok, Nikolay Zaporzhin, Vladislav Korshunov, Danila Chegodaev

New York: Jon Kokinda, Derek Lipscomb, Alosio Yamo Yamo, Nate Augspurger (captain), Gareth Stoppani, Vincent Daley, Jaryd Robinson, Jon Feldman, Tommy Pasque, Jack Tracy, Dimitri Efthimiou, Sean Patrick Rafferty

Western Province: Carel du Preez, Josh Bassingthwaighte, Danie Roux, Armien Bailey, Stefan de Villiers (captain), Werner Kok, Ryan Nell, Ivan-John du Preez, Arno Johnson, Henry Wolhuter, JP Lewis, Danwill Erasmus

Steph Reynolds shone for Gloucester in the Premiership 7s © Getty Images

Pool B

Buenos Aires: Javier Ortega Desio (SIC), Tomas de la Vega (CUBA), Mariano Zinani (CASI), Juan Ignacio Brex (San Cirano), Lucas Camacho (Hindu), Santiago Alvarez Fourcade (CASI), Lucas Alcacer (Captain) (SIC), Gonzalo Gutierrez Taboada (Newman), Matias Moroni (CUBA), Bautista Guemes (CUBA), Rodrigo Etchart (SIC), Ezequiel Valy (CASI)

Northampton Saints: Danny Hobbs-Awoyemi, Matt Williams, Paul Diggin, Alex Day, Harry Mallinder, Jacob Conner, Sam Herry, Harry Betts, Ryan Glynn, Tom Collins, Vasily Artemyev, Tom Stephenson

San Francisco: Tim Maupin, Mike Healey, Garrett Brewer, Bruce Thomas, Volney Rouse, Mose Timoteo (captain), Mile Pulu, Daniel Barrett, Neil Barrett, Carlin Isles, Mike Teo, Jack Halalilo

Vodacom Blue Bulls: Jason Kriel, Ruan Steenkamp (c), Frederick Eksteen, Carlo Engelbrecht, Andre Warner, Morne Hugo, Courtnall Skosan, Leneve Damens, Emile Temperman, Vainon Willis, Jan Enslin, Neil Meyer

All eyes will be on Carlin Isles - the world's fastest rugby player © IRB

Pool C

ACT Brumbies: Etienne Oosthuizen, Andrew Smith, Jordan Smiler, Matt Hawke, Colby Faingaa, Henry Speight, Rodney Iona, Stephan van der Walt, Ian Prior, Zack Holmes, Robbie Coleman, Tom Cox

Auckland: Chris Vui, Melani Vai, Akira Iaone, Rocky Khan, Orene Ai'i, Fomai Ah Ki, Tutu Tairea, Russell Dobbie, Kali Hala, Sinclair Dominikovich-Murray, Phoenix Hunapo-Nofoa, Varasiko Duisokosoko

Harlequins: Karl Dickson, Dave Ward, Patrice Agunda, Harry Sloan, Jeremy Manning, Joe Trayfoot, Henry Cheeseman, Jack Clifford, Jordan Burns, Louis Grimoldby, Miles Mantella, Charlie Walker

Kuban Krasnador: Oleg Kobzev, Yury Kushnarev, Ivan Kotov, Evgeny Nepeyvoda, Ivan Korotkov, Eduard Filatov, Nicolae Chirilia, Stanislav Bondarev, Alexander Tolmachev, Dmitry Gritsenko, Michail Kudinov, Vladislav Lazarenko

Colby Faingaa is in the Brumbies' squad © Getty Images
© ESPN Sports Media Ltd

Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.

  • Football

  • Cricket

  • Rugby

    • Days
    • Hrs
    • Mins
    • Secs

    F1 - Azerbaijan GP

  • OtherLive >>

    Snooker - China Open
    Tennis - Miami Open