All Blacks dominate new award nominations
ESPN Staff
November 12, 2013
New Zealand's Israel Dagg speaks to the media, Royal Garden Hotel, London, November 11, 2013
Israel Dagg features among the three fullbacks nominated © Getty Images

New Zealand players dominate the nominations for a new international player of the year award, organised by the International Rugby Players' Association, with 14 All Blacks, past and present, among the 45-strong list of contenders.

Players and officials alike will be invited to pick their Player of the Year, International Newcomer of the Year, International Team of the Year, and World XV of the Year, from the list of three nominees for each jersey number.

Fans can vote for their own Player and World XV of the Year awards using the Ultimate Rugby mobile app.

The nominees include 12 players on the All Blacks' tour of Europe, namely fullback Israel Dagg, wingers Ben Smith and Julian Savea, centre Ma'a Nonu, fly-halves Dan Carter and Aaron Cruden, scrum-half Aaron Smith, back-rowers Kieran Read, Richie McCaw and Liam Messam, and second-rows Sam Whitelock and Brodie Retallick. Conrad Smith is currently on sabbatical while Sitiveni Sivivatu no longer plays for New Zealand but stars in France.

Three Wallabies made the list of nominees - Israel Folau, Will Genia and James Horwill - while England are represented only by Alex Corbisiero. World No.2-ranked South Africa have five players among the list of nominees, which also includes eight Welshmen, four France players.

The winners will be announced on November 26 as the northern hemisphere Test window closes.

The Nominees

15: Willie Le Roux (RSA), Leigh Halfpenny (Wal), Israel Dagg (NZL)

14: Israel Folau (Aus), Ben Smith (NZL), Napolioni Nalaga (Fij)

13: Wesley Fofana (Fr), Jonathan Davies (Wales), Conrad Smith (NZL)

12: Jamie Roberts (Wal), Ma'a Nonu (NZL), Jean de Villiers (RSA)

11: George North (Wal), Julian Savea (NZL), Sitiveni Sivivatu (NZL)

10: Dan Carter (NZL), Johnny Sexton (Ire), Aaron Cruden (NZL)

9: Kahn Fotuali'l (Sam), Aaron Smith (NZL), Will Genia (Aus)

8: Kieran Read (NZL), Sergio Parisse (Ita), Toby Faletau (Wal)

7: Sean O'Brien (Ire), Richie McCaw (NZL), Francois Louw (RSA)

6: Juan Martin Fernandez Lobbe (Arg), Louis Picamoles (Fra), Liam Messam(NZL)

5: James Horwill (Aus), Brodie Retallick (NZL), Alun Wyn Jones (Wal)

4: Sam Whitelock (NZL), Eben Eztebeth (RSA), Joe Tekori (Sam)

3: Juan Figallo (Arg), Adam Jones (Wal), Census Johnston (Sam)

2: Bismarck Du Plessis (RSA), Benjamin Kayser (Fra) Richard Hibbard (Wal)

1: Vincent Debaty (Fra), Alex Corbiseiro (Eng), Marcos Ayerza (Arg)

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.