Halfpenny wins rugby writers' award
ESPN Staff
January 14, 2014

Wales fullback Leigh Halfpenny was named the Player of the Year for 2013 by the Rugby Union Writers' Club at their annual dinner in London.

Halfpenny the award at a dinner in London, joining a distinguished group of players to have lifted the Pat Marshall Memorial trophy including the likes of David Kirk, David Campese, Jonah Lomu, Martin Johnson, Lawrence Dallaglio and Jonny Wilkinson. In December Halfpenny finished second in the BBC's Sports Personality of the Year award, and was voted man of the series for the British & Irish Lions success in Australia last summer.

"Leigh was a convincing winner of our vote and a worthy recipient of the award not only for his performances for the Lions but his displays in the Six Nations earlier in the year" said RUWC chairman Adam Hathaway.

Wales and Lions coach Warren Gatland won a Special Award for Lifetime Achievement, joining a select group of winners that include Jim Telfer, Clive Woodward and Ian McGeechan.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd

Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.

  • Football

  • Cricket

  • Rugby

    • Days
    • Hrs
    • Mins
    • Secs

    F1 - United States GP

  • OtherLive >>

    Golf - Houston Open
    Snooker - China Open
    Tennis - Miami Open