New Zealand
Beauden Barrett given Try of the Year award
ESPN Staff
February 20, 2014

Beauden Barrett has won the International Rugby Players' Association's Try of the Year award for 2013, for his spectacular score against France in Christchurch.

His try resulted from a turnover as France attacked New Zealand's line, and he touched down only after slick handling from several team-mates and a clever chip kick. The try was awarded ahead of scores by All Blacks team-mate Ben Smith, Scotland's Stuart Hogg and South Africans Jean de Villiers and Zane Kirchner.

"It was a great feeling to deliver this try for the team," Barrett said. "Like all tries, the groundwork is done on the training field and by your team-mates, and the buzz when any of the guys manages to dot down is why we play for each other. I am glad that others enjoyed watching it all unfold."

Andrew Mehrtens, a member of the judging panel alongside Tony Diprose, Paul Wallace and Thinus Delport, said: "With so many great international tries during 2013, involving both individual brilliance and collective effort, it is never an easy process to settle on one try. However, when it came down to it, Barrett's try stood out for the judges due to the high level of skills involved by different players, and, most importantly, the teamwork required to make it happen."

Previous Winners

2012: Bryan Habana (South Africa) - South Africa v New Zealand

2011: Radike Samo (Australia) - Australia v New Zealand

2010: Chris Ashton (England) - England v Australia

2009: Jaque Fourie (South Africa) - South Africa v British and Irish Lions

2008: Brian O'Driscoll (Ireland) - Australia v Ireland

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd

Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.

  • Football

  • Cricket

  • Rugby

    • Days
    • Hrs
    • Mins
    • Secs

    F1 - Azerbaijan GP

  • OtherLive >>

    Snooker - China Open
    Tennis - Miami Open