Rugby Championship
Tomas Lavanini cited for charging Richie McCaw
September 7, 2014
Argentina lock Tomas Lavanini wins a lineout ball over Brodie Retallick, New Zealand v Argentina, Rugby Championship, McLean Park, Napier, September 6, 2014
Tomas Lavanini's (r) charge left All Blacks skipper Richie McCaw in pain © Getty Images
Enlarge

Pumas lock Tomas Lavanini has been cited for foul play after charging into All Blacks captain Richie McCaw in a ruck during Saturday's Rugby Championship match in Napier.

Lavanini is alleged to have charged into the ruck, making contact with McCaw without using his arms, in the 51st minute of the Test won 28-9 by New Zealand.

Match referee Pascal Gauzere awarded a penalty for the incident, but the Sanzar citing commissioner deemed the incident had met the red card threshold for foul play.

Sanzar duty judicial officer Adam Casselden will consider the incident.

© AAP

Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.

  • Football

  • Cricket

  • Rugby

    • Days
    • Hrs
    • Mins
    • Secs

    F1 - Singapore GP

  • OtherLive >>

    Snooker - China Open
    Tennis - Miami Open