Scarratt receives Rugby Writers' top gong
ESPN Staff
January 13, 2015
Emily Scarratt collects her award from Rugby Writers' Club Chairman Alex Lowe © Getty Images

England's World Cup winning full-back Emily Scarratt won the top award - the Pat Marshall Memorial Award - at the Rugby Union Writers' Club's Awards dinner in London on Monday night.

Scarratt won the sport's personality of the year award, with other gongs going to England and Ireland legends Jonny Wilkinson and Brian O'Driscoll, who both retired in 2014. The pair were awarded the RUWC's discretionary Special Award for their services to rugby during long and distinguished careers.

Scarratt is the second woman to win the award after team-mate Maggie Alphonsi was honoured in 2010. She played a key role in England's World Cup victory in France last summer, scoring 16 points in the final as Canada were beaten 21-9, a haul that included a brilliant solo try.

She finished as the tournament's top points scorer with 70 and has won 55 caps since making her debut against the United States in 2008.

Former England fly-half Wilkinson and Ireland legend O'Driscoll were named personality of the year in 2002 and 2009 respectively and now follow in the footsteps of Lawrence Dallaglio, the only other player to have won both awards.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd

Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.