Super Rugby
Five Springboks buck trend to re-sign with Bulls
ESPN Staff
August 31, 2015
Jesse Kriel is tackled
Jesse Kriel is tackled© Cameron Spencer/Getty Images

The Bulls have struck a timely blow for keeping South Africa's best players in the country with five Springboks re-signing with the Pretoria franchise.

The likes of Duane Vermeulen, Bismarck du Plessis and Willem Alberts will journey to France after the World Cup to continue their domestic rugby careers, but the Bulls have managed to retain four players who were included in Heyneke Meyer's final 31-man squad.

Jan Serfontein missed out on World Cup selection but he has committed his future to the Bulls alongside fellow Springboks fly-half Handre Pollard, centre-come-fullback Jesse Kriel, prop Trevor Nyakane and hooker Adriaan Strauss.

Kriel, Pollard and Strauss have committed until October 2019 while Nyakane is now contracted until October 2018 and Serfontein until October 2017.

"This is a clear indication that frontline players see the Bulls as the ideal place to continue and build their already impressive careers," the franchise's high performance manager Xander Janse van Rensburg said. "These players are all expected to be amongst the best in the world in their positions for a number of years still and should play many test matches for the Springboks while in Bulls colours.

"Not only the Bulls, but South African rugby will benefit in having them based in Pretoria. We believe Blue Bulls rugby has the ability to attract and retain the biggest names in South African rugby and this is proof of that."

© ESPN Staff

Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.