Australian duo inducted into World Rugby Hall of Fame
ESPN Sports Media Ltd.
September 21, 2015
© Getty Images

Twenty-five rugby greats have been inducted into the World Rugby Hall of Fame, with two Wallabies legends named in the list. Tim Horan and Tom 'Rusty' Richards were both named alongside rugby legends whose careers spanned across three centuries and were honoured at a special ceremony in the Spirit of Rugby lounge at Wembley Stadium.

Horan, a two-time Rugby World Cup winner has 80 caps to his name and was named World Cup player of the tournament at the 1999 World Cup. Horan was a pivotal player for Australia throughout the 1990's, especially during Australia's two World Cup wins.

While Richards, the only man to have played for both Australia and the British & Irish Lions, was also honoured. A rugby wanderer, Richards played rugby in South Africa, England and Australia before he was named in the Wallabies 1908 tour of the United Kingdom. His side also represented Australia at the 1908 Olympics, where they won the gold medal.

He later represented the British Isles in South Africa in 1910 and represented Australia again in 1912 when the side toured the United States and Canada.

The trophy Australia and the British & Irish Lions contest for was later named after him.

Fellow inductees include South Africa's Nass Botha and Joost van der Westhuizen, Irishmen Fergus Slattery and Mervyn Davies and England's Ronald Pulton-Palmer.

Twenty-five World Rugby Hall of Fame inductees:
Phil Bennett (Wales), Naas Botha (South Africa), Gordon Brown (Scotland), Marcel Communeau (France), Gerald Davies (Wales), Mervyn Davies (Wales), Danie Gerber (South Africa), Tim Horan (Australia), Andy Irvine (Scotland), Carwyn James (Wales), Barry John (Wales), Tom Kiernan (Ireland), Gwyn Nicholls (Wales), Basil Maclear (Ireland), Bill McLaren (Scotland), Edgar Mobbs (England), Hennie Muller (South Africa), Morné du Plessis (South Africa), Ronald Poulton-Palmer (England),Tom Richards (Australia), Jean-Pierre Rives (France), Fergus Slattery (Ireland), Wavell Wakefield (England), Joost van der Westhuizen (South Africa) John Lewis Williams (Wales).

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.