South Africa
Lood de Jager wins South Africa's Rugby Player of the Year award
ESPN Staff
February 26, 2016
© Sean Everett / Supersport

Springboks forward Lood de Jager was named SA Rugby Player of the Year at South African Rugby Union event on Thursday night. Voted by fellow players and media, de Jager beat out fellow nominees Damian de Allende, Eben Etzebeth, Schalk Burger and Jaco Kriel.

Impressing throughout the 2015 season, especially during the Springboks Rugby World Cup campaign, the 23-year-old is one of the youngest winners of the prestigious award, following closely behind Bryan Habana who received the award at 22.

"Personally, I had an unbelievable year with the Springboks, although it was a bit up and down for the team," said De Jager. "But a lot of younger players gained invaluable experience and this bodes well for the future of the South African game, we just have to now go out and use it in 2016.

"I'm excited for a big season ahead, with a lot of challenges, and I'm sure we can all make a difference this year."

Kriel also walked away with spoils after receiving the Players' Player of the Year Award and the Currie Cup Premier Division Player of the Year award, after he led the Golden Lions to the 2015 title. While his side also walked away with the Team of the Year and coach Johan Ackerman secured the Coach of the Year award for a second consecutive season.

De Allende, who just fell short to De Jager was named Super Rugby Player of the Year after impressing for the Stormers throughout 2015, while his Springboks centre partner Jesse Kriel was named Young Player of the Year.

Rugby Player of the Year:

Lood de Jager

Young Player of the Year:

Jesse Kriel

Players' Player of the Year:

Jaco Kriel

Sevens Player of the Year:

Werner Kok

Under-20 Player of the Year:

Warrick Gelant

Team of the Year:

Xerox Golden Lions (Currie Cup)

Coach of the Year:

Johann Ackermann (Golden Lions)

Super Rugby Player of Year:

Damian De Allende (Stormers)

Vodacom Cup Player of the Year:

Marnus Schoeman (Steval Pumas)

Currie Cup Player of the Year:

Jaco Kriel (Golden Lions)

Marriott Referee Award:

Rasta Rasivhenge

Women's Achiever Award:

Veroeshka Grain

© ESPN Staff

Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.