Scrum columnists help select Player of the Rugby World Cup
September 22, 1999

Scrum columnists John Taylor and John Inverdale have been chosen as part of an exclusive committee to select the Player of the Rugby World Cup.

The award will once again be run by The Famous Grouse and they have assembled a panel of 12 experts from the world of rugby to judge the top 3 players from each game at the Rugby World Cup. At the end of the tournament, the player with the most number of votes will be announced as the " The Famous Grouse Player of the Tournament 1999"

The panel will be chaired by Gareth Edwards and joining the Scrum columnists will be Paul Ackford, Rob Andrew, Gavin Hastings, Michael Lynagh, Ian Robertson, Phil Matthews, Philippe Sella, Joel Stransky and Zinzan Brooke.

The 1995 award went to Jonah Lomu and this year's winner will be announced on 4 November 1999 in Cardiff where he will be presented with a silver Grouse trophy and a cheque.

Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.