Strauss loses place on Australian bench
October 27, 1999

Mark Connors and Owen Finegan have both been included amongst the Australian replacements for Saturday's semi-final against South Africa, which means no place for former Springbok Tiaan Strauss (pictured).
Rod Moore, who joined the Australian squad as a replacement after an injury to Patricio Noriega, has also been named amongst the seven replacements.
Wallaby coach Rod Macqueen said the selectors had been forced to make some very difficult decisions, but circumstances had forced their hand.
"As far as Tiaan is concerned, we were very pleased with his performance against Wales, but Mark Connors and Owen Finegan offer options for the lock position and options in the line out," he said.
Macqueen also said Moore, who made his test debut against the United States earlier in the tournament, was included because the Australians were concerned about any possible injury to Andrew Blades.
"The tight head spot is a critical one against South Africa and Rod Moore offers us something there. Dan Crowley is a loose head specialist while Glenn Panoho probably hasn't played enough rugby at this stage."
Australian team: Matt Burke; Ben Tune, Daniel Herbert, Tim Horan, Joe Roff; Steve Larkham, George Gregan; Toutai Kefu, David Wilson, Matt Cockbain, John Eales (capt), David Giffin, Andrew Blades, Michael Foley, Richard Harry
Replacements: Jason Little, Nathan Grey, Chris Whitaker, Mark Connors, Owen Finegan, Rod Moore, Jeremy Paul

Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.