Four changes to South African line-up
November 2, 1999

Springbok coach Nick Mallett has made four changes to his side for the World Cup third-place playoff match against New Zealand on Thursday night.
Back-rower Bobby Skinstad and wings Deon Kayser and Pieter Rossouw are all be ruled out with injuries suffered in the South Africans' semi-final loss to Australia on Saturday.
Skinstad's troublesome knee has flared up again and he will undergo surgery after the tournament, while Kayser has a broken jaw and Rossouw has a strained calf muscle.
Their places are taken by Andre Vos, Breyton Paulse and Stefan Terblanche.
Fly-half hero Jannie de Beer asked to be overlooked for selection and will be on the bench. Henry Honiball has a chance in the starting line-up in what will be his final test for South Africa.
Honiball is set to announce his retirement from international rugby after Thursday's match. He has signed to play for English club Bristol next season and the South African selectors do not pick overseas-based players.
Honiball, who won his 34th test cap against Australia on Saturday, has played three tests at fly-half against New Zealand and has yet to be on the losing side. He has amassed 143 points for South Africa, scoring one try and kicking 36 conversions and 22 penalties.
Pieter Muller retains his number 12 jersey for the game with Brendan Venter missing out on selection by one day.
Venter's three-week suspension ends on Friday, which would have made him available for the final had South Africa beaten Australia last weekend.
The winners of the replay of the 1995 final will qualify automatically for the 2003 tournament while the losers will have to play in a qualifying tournament, giving the match a real edge.
South African team: Percy Montgomery; Breyton Paulse, Robbie Fleck, Pieter Muller, Stefan Terblanche, Henry Honiball, Joost van der Westhuizen (capt), Andre Vos, Andre Venter, Rassie Erasmus, Mark Andrews, Krynauw Otto, Cobus Visagie, Naka Drotske, Os du Randt.
Replacements: Wayne Julies, Jannie de Beer, Werner Swanepoel, Ruben Kruger, Albert van den Bergh, Ollie le Roux, Chris Rossouw.

Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.

  • Football

  • Cricket

  • Rugby

    • Days
    • Hrs
    • Mins
    • Secs

    F1 - United States GP

  • OtherLive >>

    Snooker - China Open
    Tennis - Miami Open