Mehrtens and Horan win top awards
November 17, 1999

Andrew Mehrtens (pictured) and Tim Horan have been named as 'player of the year by their respective Rugby Unions.
Mehrtens took the New Zealand award from runners up Jonah Lomu and Tana Umaga. Lomu, who was top try scorer at the World Cup finals won the People's Choice award but the union honoured Mehrtens for his overall contribution.
"In 1999, he equalled the world record of nine penalty goals in a test match when the All Blacks beat Australia at Eden Park and he scored 166 points in 10 test matches this year, becoming the first All Black to score more than 150 test points in one season," said a statement
Mehrtens has 594 points from 39 tests, just short of Grant Fox's new Zealand record of 600 points in 44 tests.
Meanwhile Tim Horan has received a similar award from the Australian Rugby Union. The veteran inside centre, who was also a member of the Australian side that won the 1991 World Cup, finished ahead of Toutai Kefu and his centre partner Daniel Herbert.
Winger Ben Tune won the award for try of the year for the try he scored in the World Cup final.

Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.

  • Football

  • Cricket

  • Rugby

    • Days
    • Hrs
    • Mins
    • Secs

    F1 - Australian GP

  • OtherLive >>

    Darts - Premier League
    Golf - Houston Open
    Snooker - China Open
    Tennis - Miami Open