IRB nominate refereeing panel for 2000
December 14, 1999

Thirty four referees from 12 countries have been named to the International Rugby Board's (IRB) first panel for the new Millennium.

The panel, selected from a list of 60 names, includes the referees and touch judges for the 2000 Six Nations Championship, which starts in February.

According to Tim Gresson, who chairs the Referee Selection Committee, the panel reflects directions provided by the IRB Council at its October meeting.

"The Referee Selection Committee is required to make its decisions on a merit basis while, at the same time, recognising the need to ensure there is an ongoing development of referees world-wide. The committee must also plan ahead so the top referees are fully prepared for the next Rugby World Cup, in 2003," Gresson said.

He added "The Six Nations appointments only reflect part of a total package running through to the conclusion of the Tri-Nations, in August 2000. Providing their performances are satisfactory, the committee proposes that all members of the panel will receive an appointment, either as referee or touch judge, during the coming year."

The complete IRB Referee Panel until 31 August 2000 is:

Derek Bevan (Wales), Brian Campsall (England), Andrew Cole (Australia), Robert Davies (Wales), Pablo Deluca (Argentina), Stuart Dickinson (Australia), Rob Dickson (Scotland), Joel Dume (France), Wayne Erickson (Australia), Jim Fleming (Scotland), Claudio Giacomel (Italy), Colin Hawke (New Zealand), Tappe Henning (South Africa), Paul Honnis (New Zealand), Ian Hyde-Lay (Canada), Shinichi Iwashita (Japan), Joel Jutge (France), Jonathan Kaplan (South Africa), Steve Lander (England), Mark Lawrence (South Africa), Alan Lewis (Ireland), Peter Marshall (Australia), David McHugh (Ireland), Didier Mene (France), Giovanni Morandin (Italy), Ed Morrison (England), Paddy O'Brien (New Zealand), Iain Ramage (Scotland), Clayton Thomas (Wales), Steve Walsh Jnr. (New Zealand), Andre Watson (South Africa), Chris White (England), Nigel Whitehouse (Wales), Scott Young (Australia).

Appointments for the 2000 Six Nations are:

February 5, Italy v Scotland, in Rome: referee Jonathan Kaplan (South Africa); touch judges, Joel Dume (France), Mark Lawrence (South Africa). England v Ireland, Twickenham, Steve Walsh Jnr (New Zealand); Derek Bevan (Wales), Rob Dickson (Scotland). Wales v France, Cardiff, Chris White (England); Brian Campsall (England), Giovanni Morandin (Italy).

February 19, France v England, Paris, Stuart Dickinson (Australia), Jonathan Kaplan (South Africa), Mark Lawrence (South Africa). Wales v Italy, Cardiff, Iain Ramage (Scotland), Rob Dickson (Scotland), Ian Hyde-Lay (Canada). Ireland v Scotland, Dublin, Joel Dume (France); Didier Mene (France), Claudio Giacomel (Italy).

March 4, Scotland v France, Edinburgh, Steve Lander (England); Clayton Thomas (Wales), Alan Lewis (Ireland). England v Wales, Twickenham, Jim Fleming (Scotland); Paul Honnis (New Zealand), Ian Hyde-Lay (Canada). Ireland v Italy, Dublin, Derek.Bevan (Wales); Stuart Dickinson (Australia), Robert Davies (Wales).

March 18, Italy v England, Rome, Alan Lewis (Ireland); Andrew Cole (Australia), Joel Jutge (France). Wales v Scotland, Cardiff, David McHugh (Ireland); Steve Lander (England), Pablo Deluca (Argentina).

March 19, France v Ireland, Paris, Paul , Clayton Thomas (Wales); David McHugh (Ireland), Giovanni Morandin (Italy).
Honnis (New Zealand); Jim Fleming (Scotland); Nigel Whitehouse (Wales).

April 1, France v Italy, Paris, Pablo Deluca (Argentina); Ed Morrison (England), Iain Ramage (Scotland). Ireland v Wales, Dublin, Andrew Cole (Australia); Chris White (England), Joel Jutge (France).

April 2, Scotland v England, Edinburgh

Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.

  • Football

  • Cricket

  • Rugby

    • Days
    • Hrs
    • Mins
    • Secs

    F1 - Azerbaijan GP

  • OtherLive >>

    Boxing - Nelson v Wilson; Simmons v Dickinson; Joshua v Gavern (Metro Radio Arena, Newcastle)
    Golf - Houston Open
    Snooker - China Open
    Tennis - Miami Open