No place for AJ Venter in Super 12 squads
Cape Town
January 17, 2000

Three rising black stars have been included in the four South African Super 12 squads named in Cape Town on Monday, but no place was announced for eighthman A.J. Venter, embroiled in contractual wrangles.

Centres Wayne Julies and Kaya Malotana, included in the Springbok squad for last year's World Cup, were called up to the Stormers' and Cats' squads respectively.

Mac Masina, the Lions' star in the 1999 domestic Vodacom Cup, is also in the Cats line-up.

But the fate of Venter, one of the outstanding players of last year's Super 12 southern hemisphere tournament, will only be known after the dispute over his provincial contractual obligations has been resolved.

Venter is trying to leave the Golden Lions for the Natal Sharks but his former province is objecting, claiming that a contract clause allows them to better any other offers he receives.

Other newcomers are Springbok Sevens captain Roger Smith (Sharks), former Falcons lock Wayne Boardman (Stormers)and South Africa Under 21 winger Friedrich Lombard (Cats).

Former All Blacks coach Laurie Mains makes his Super 12 coaching debut with the Cats, the only side not to name their captain. Ruben Kruger will lead the Northern Bulls, Bob Skinstad the Stormers and Wayne Fyvie the Sharks.

Springboks on the move are flyhalf Gaffie du Toit and lock Albert van den Berg (from Cats to Sharks), who are joined by ex-Northern Bulls centre Andre Snyman, to make his return to Super 12 once his ankle has fully healed.

The squads announced Monday comprise 30 players and "untouchables" injured players who will join their squads when they are fit and cannot be called upon by other Super 12 regions.


Backs: De Wet Barry (Western Province), John Daniels (Boland), Manie du Toit(Eagles), Rob Fleck (Western Province), Wayne Julies (Boland), Rickus Lubbe(Eagles), Percy Montgomery (Western Province), Pieter O'Neill (Eagles), Breyton Paulse (Western Province), Pieter Rossouw (Western Province), Gus Theron (Western Province), Braam van Straaten (Western Province), Dave von Hoesslin (Natal), Dan van Zyl (Western Province).

Forwards: Julian Barnard (Boland), Wayne Boardman (Eagles), Selborne Boome(Western Province), Rob Brink (Western Province), Hendrik Gerber (Western Province), Tokkie Kasselman (Cheetahs), Rob Kempson (Western Province), Corne Krige (Western Province), Hottie Louw(Western Province), Charl Marais(Western Province), Gavin Pfister (NFS Griffins) Bob Skinstad (captain, Western Province), Morne van der Merwe(Eagles), Johan van Wyk (Western Province), Cobus Visagie (Western Province), Tommy Webb (Eagles).

Untouchables: Robert Markram (Western Province), Chean Roux (Western Province), Toks van der Linde (Western Province), Brendan Venter (Western Province), Johan Wasserman (Eagles).

Backs: Chad Alcock (Mighty Elephants), Russell Bennett (Natal), Steven Brink(Natal), Craig Davidson (Natal), Gaffie du Toit (Natal), Joe Gillingham (Natal), Deon Kayser (Natal), Ricardo Laubscher (Mighty Elephants), Hentie Martens (Natal), Pieter Muller (Natal), Roger Smith (Natal), Justin Swart(Natal), Stefan Terblanche (Natal), Clinton van Rensburg (Natal).

Forwards: Mark Andrews (Natal), Warren Brosnihan (Natal), Wayne Fyvie (captain, Natal), Ollie Le Roux (Natal), Brent Moyle (Natal), John Slade (Natal), John Smit (Natal), Philip Smit (Natal), Albert van den Berg (Natal), Charl van Rensburg(Natal), Chris Rossouw (Natal), Vorster Venter (Mighty Elephants), Morne Visser (Natal), Gideon Watts (Natal).

Untouchables: Trevor Halstead (Natal), Butch James (Natal), Conrad Magiera (Natal), Brad McLeod-Henderson (Natal), Andre Snyman (Natal).

Cats (only 29 announced)
Backs: Grant Bartle (Lions), Tinus Delport (Lions), Kobus Engelbrecht(Lions), Grant Esterhuizen (Lions), Dean Hall (Lions), Louis Koen (Lions), Hennie Le Roux (Lions), Friedrich Lombard (Cheetahs), Kaya Malotana(Lions), Mac Masina (Lions), Japie Mulder (Lions), Jimmy Powell (Cheetahs), Jannie van der Walt (Lions), Wickus Venter (Lions), Chester Williams (Lions).

Forwards: Johan Ackermann (Lions), Leon Boshoff (Lions), Delarey du Preez(Lions), Francois du Toit (Lions), Johan Erasmus (Lions), Dirkie Groenewald (Cheetahs), Piet Krause(Lions), Jannes Labuschagne (Lions), Victor Matfield Nashua Griquas), Willie Meyer (Lions), Marius Mostert (Lions), Andre Venter (Cheetahs), Andre Vos (Lions).

Untouchables: Werner Swanepoel (Lions), Bruce Thorne (Lions), Lourens Venter(Griquas).

Northern Bulls
Backs: Jannie de Beer (Blue Bulls), Deon de Kock (Falcons), Marius Goosen(Blue Bulls), Coenraad Groenewald (Blue Bulls), Tiaan Joubert (Blue Bulls), Chris Kruger (Blue Bulls), Jorrie Kruger (Pumas), Wynand Lourens(Falcons), Eugene Meyer (Falcons), Wim Meyer (Blue Bulls), Henry Pedro (Pumas), Casper Steyn (Blue Bulls), Paul Treu (Eagles), Jaco van der Westhuizen (Pumas).

Forwards: Peet Arnold (Blue Bulls), Wium Basson (Blue Bulls), Piet Boer(Blue Bulls), Marius Bosman (Pumas), Jannie Brooks (Blue Bulls), Naka Drotske (Blue Bulls), Jaco Espag(Falcons), Johan Human (Pumas), Piet Joubert (Pumas), Ruben Kruger (captain,Blue Bulls), Anton Leonard(Blue Bulls), Russell Nelson (Pumas), Krynauw Otto (Blue Bulls), Ralf Schroeder (Falcons), Sias Wagner(Pumas), John Williams (Blue Bulls).

Untouchables: Schutte Bekker (Blue Bulls), Conrad Breytenbach (Blue Bulls), Os du Randt (Blue Bulls), Bennie Nortje (Pumas), Danie van Schalkwyk (Blue Bulls).

Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.