Tietjens announces Sevens squad for Wellington
January 29, 2000

New Zealand rugby sevens coach Gordon Tietjens has announced a strong squad in advance of next week end's fifth round of the world sevens circuit in Wellington.

This is an indication of how seriously the NZRFU is taking this opportunity to promote both the sevens game and the new venue, the Westpac Stadium.

Some of the stars who helped New Zealand win the gold medal in the Kuala Lumpur Commonwealth Games have been brought back into the fold - Jonah Lomu, Christian Cullen, Caleb Ralph, Amasio Raoma and Roger Randle - to give the squad a powerful and expert look:

Amasio Raoma (Auckland), Malili Muliaina (Auckland), Craig de Goldi(Bay of Plenty ),Justin Wilson (Bay of Plenty), Dallas Seymour (Canterbury), Caleb Ralph (Canterbury), Eric Rush, captain, (North Harbour), Craig Newby(North Harbour), Karl Te Nana (North Harbour), Tony Monaghan (Northland), Jared Going (Northland), Christian Cullen (Wellington), Jonah Lomu(Wellington ), Shannon Pak (Wellington), Roger Randle (Waikato).

After 4 rounds New Zealand shares the lead with Fiji, with both on 10
championship points.

Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.

  • Football

  • Cricket

  • Rugby

    • Days
    • Hrs
    • Mins
    • Secs

    F1 - United States GP

  • OtherLive >>

    Snooker - China Open
    Tennis - Miami Open