Waratahs include youngsters in first Super 12 squad
February 17, 2000

Australian state side the New South Wales Waratahs have included promising young forwards Jono West, David Lyons and Phil Waugh in their squad for their two opening Super 12 rugby union matches in South Africa.

West, a 20-year-old lock forward, and backrowers Lyons and Waugh impressed during pre-season fixtures against the Canterbury Crusaders and the Auckland Blues.

The Waratahs open their 2000 Super 12 season against the Stormers in Cape Town on February 27, with the second game coming against the Bulls in Witbank on March 4.

The NSW squad:

Forwards - Alastair Baxter, Peter Besseling, Cameron Blades, Brendan Cannon, Mark Crick, Keith Gleeson, Richard Harry, David Lyons, Daniel Manu, Rod Moore, Stu Pinkerton, Tiaan Strauss, Phil Waugh, John Welborn, Jono West

Backs - Matthew Burke, Matt Dowling, Manuel Edmonds, Darren Junee, Jason Little (captain), Duncan McRae, Sam Payne, Scott Staniforth, Marc Stcherbina, Christian Warner, Chris Whitaker.

Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.

  • Football

  • Cricket

  • Rugby

    • Days
    • Hrs
    • Mins
    • Secs

    F1 - United States GP

  • OtherLive >>

    Snooker - China Open
    Tennis - Miami Open