Canada pick inexperienced side
April 3, 2000

Canada have selected five new caps for the opening match of the Epson Cup, against Tonga in Vancouver on May 20.
"Thirteen of this squad have already played for Canada but there are eight new faces," said coach David Clark. "This is not a matter of dropping people, but of selecting the best players available for this first match against Tonga. Many of our overseas professionals won't be available for this first Epson match, and this gives us the opportunity to look at some new people."

"However, professionals Jon Thiel (Narbonne), John Tait and Dan Baugh (Cardiff), Al Charron (Bristol), and Morgan Williams (Begles-Bordeaux) are available for this match and other overseas personnel may be added as they become available."

Canadian Team :

1. Kevin Tkachuk, 2. Pat Dunkley, 3. Jon Thiel, 4. Al Charon, 5. John Tait,
6. Gregor Dixon, 7. Dan Baugh, 8. Phil Murphy, 9. Morgan Williams, 10. Jared Barker, 11. Sean Fauth, 12. Kyle Nichols, 13. Nik Witkowski, 14. Fred Asselin, 15. Winston Stanley
Reserves: Harry Toews, Duane Major, Chris Whitaker, John Hutchinson, Nick Milau, Mark Irvine, 22. Jason Verstraten.

Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.