Seven changes for Sharks but Stormers remain the same
May 10, 2000

Sharks coach Hugh Reece-Edwards has rung the changes ahead of Saturday's face-saving clash with the hopeful Stormers. His side will face a motivated Capetonian side who need to win - with a bonus point - in order to make the semi-finals.

The former Natal and Springbok fullback has made a total of seven changes - six to the pack and one in the backline. The most notable of the lot is the re-selection of former skipper Wayne Fyvie, who was overlooked for the last two games. He returns to his preferred openside flanker spot, while AJ Venter moves to the blindside.

Warren Brosnihan moves to the fairly unfamiliar territory at No 8. World Cup hooker Chris Rossouw - who like Fyvie was dropped for two games - makes a return to hooker at the expense of John Smit, while Brent Moyle replaces Baksteen Nell in the starting 15.

Veteran second rower John Slade comes in for the injured Albert van der Berg (out with an AC Joint problem), while Stephen Brink reclaims the No 11 jersey from the out-of-sorts Justin Swart. It will be the former Cheetahs winger's first start since limping off against the Highlanders in March.

The Stormers on the other hand have named an unchanged although question marks remain over the fitness of skipper Corne Krige and Robbie Kempson.

Krige was walking more easily at Wednesday's press conference, but still has a slight limp as a result of the deep gash he suffered to his left ankle during Sunday's win over the Hurricanes.

However, Kempson's problem is less clear-cut. "The surgeon thinks it is an aggravation of an old injury, but I'm still relatively optimistic he will take his place in the side," said Solomons.

Stormers team: Percy Montgomery; Breyton Paulse, Robbie Fleck, De Wet Barry, Pieter Rossouw; Braam van Straaten, Dan van Zyl; Chean Roux, Hendrik Gerber, Corne Krige (capt), Selborne Boome, Hottie Louw, Cobus Visagie, Charl Marais, Robbie Kempson. Substitutes: Robert Markram, Wayne Julies, Dave von Hoesslin, Janneman Brand, Brett Barrett, Toks van der Linde, Johan van Wyk.

Sharks team: Joe Gillingham, Deon Kayser, Stefan Terblanche, Pieter Muller, Stephen Brink, Gaffie du Toit, Chad Alcock, Warren Brosnihan, Wayne Fyvie, AJ Venter, Mark Andrews (capt), John Slade, Brent Moyle, Chris Rossouw, Ollie le Roux. Substitutes: Rodger Smith, Clinton van Rensburg, Craig Davidson, Jacques Greeff, Philip Smit, Baksteen Nell, John Smit.

Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.