Irish Schools Australian tour squad announced
May 16, 2000

A 26 strong squad has been named for Ireland schools eight-match tour of Australia, which culminates in a test against the Australian Schools in Brisbane on 23rd August.

Gavin Duffy from Cistercian College, Roscrea will captain the team, while the Manager is Barney McGonigle (Friends School) and the coaching will be handled by Keith Patton (Royal School, Dungannon) and Bobby Byrne(Gonzaga College).

The squad includes four players, Andrew Maxwell, Ian Humphreys, Colm Tucker and Shane Jennings who played in the recent Under 19 World championships in France.

Squad: Backs - Diarmuid O'Riordan (Rockwell College), Scott Young (Campbell College), Mark Canning (CBC Cork), Andrew Maxwell (Royal Beflast A.I.), Gavin Duffy (Cistercian College, Roscrea, Captain); Greg Mitchell (Campbell College), Kevin Lucey (CBC Cork), Eoghan Hickey (De La Salle, Churchtown), Ian Humphries (Ballymena Academy), Conor Quaid (CBC Cork), Frank Murphy (CBC Cork), Fiach O'Loughlin (Ard Scoil Ris).
Forwards - John Lyne (Castleknock College), Graham Kendrick (Royal Belfast A.I.), Jody Danagher (Blackrock College), Eugene McGovern (Crescent College), Rory Best (Portadown College), Colm Tucker (St. Munchin's College), Michael Carroll (Blackrock College),Stephen Keogh (St. Munchin's College), Matthew McCullough (Ballymena Academy), Denis Leamy (Rockwell College), David O'Neill (PBC Cork), John O'Connor (Crescent College), Roger Wilson (Royal Belfast A.I.), Shane Jennings (St. Mary's College).

The tour itinerary is - July 26 - V. Western Australia President's Schools XV, Perth; July 29 - V. Victoria, Melbourne; August 2 - V. A.C.T., Canberra; August 6 - V. N.S.W. Country, Nowra; August 9 - V. N.S.W., Sydney; August 13 - V. N.S.W. Combined High Schools, Sydney; August 19 - V. Queensland, Brisbane; August 23 - V. Australia, Brisbane

Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.