Umaga takes prestigious title
October 26, 2000

As expected, All Black winger Tana Umaga collected the highest award in New Zealand Rugbylast night when he was awarded the Kel Tremain Memorial Trophy.

Umaga has had a brilliant year - staring for the All Blacks during the Tri-Nations campaign, while he was also instrumental in Wellington's victorious NPC title run this year.

The victorious New Zealand U21 side that took the SANZAR tournament earlier in the year were named team of the year, while Bay of PLenty's Gordon Tietjens the coach of the year award.

Former All Black and Auckland llegend Zinzan Brooke was awarded the Steinlager Salver for his contribution to the NPC.

The other award winners were as follows:

Kel Tremain Personality of the year Trophy: Tana Umaga (Wellington).

First Division player of the year: Andy Slater (Taranaki).

Second Division player of the year: Cory Holdaway (Nelson Bays).

Third Division player of the year: Mano Flutey (East Coast).

NPC coach of the year: Gordon Tietjens (Bay of Plenty).

Super 12 player of the year: Scott Robertson (Crusaders).

Super 12 team of the year: Crusaders.

Team of the year: New Zealand Colts.

Steinlager Salver (for NPC personality, 1976-2000): Zinzan Brooke.

Age grade player of the year: Ben Blair (Canterbury).

Sevens player of the year: Karl Te Nana (North Harbour).

Tom French Cup for Maori player of the year: Daryl Gibson (Canterbury).

Referee of the year: Colin Hawke.

Most improved referee of the year: Scott Herbert.

Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.

  • Football

  • Cricket

  • Rugby

    • Days
    • Hrs
    • Mins
    • Secs

    F1 - Azerbaijan GP

  • OtherLive >>

    Darts - Premier League
    Golf - Houston Open
    Snooker - China Open
    Tennis - Miami Open