Schedule announced for World Cup Sevens
January 4, 2001

Wales and Portugal will play the opening tie of the 2001 Rugby World Cup Sevens to be held at Mar del Plata, Argentina, on January 26th-28th. The two countries last met in the World Sevens Series at Durban two months ago when Portugal beat Wales in the final of the Bowl.

Thirty ties are scheduled to be played on each of the first two days with the knock out matches in the Bowl, Plate and Cup to be held on the final day. Fiji, the winners in 1997, begin the defence of their title against Ireland.

New Zealand, the World Series champions, and currently unbeatable on the sevens circuit, will play Spain in their opening tie, and the hosts Argentina play Russia who will be making their first appearance in the RWC Sevens. Other newcomers to the tournament are Chile, Georgia and Kenya.

For full details of the tournament check out our dedicated section.

Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.

  • Football

  • Cricket

  • Rugby

    • Days
    • Hrs
    • Mins
    • Secs

    F1 - Mexican GP

  • OtherLive >>

    Golf - Houston Open
    Snooker - China Open
    Tennis - Miami Open