Draw for Wellington Sevens confirmed
January 12, 2001

The draw for the Telecom 2GO International Sevens tournament in Wellington on 9-10 February was confirmed today. The sixteen participating teams are divided into four pools for the first day of competition.

New Zealand has been drawn in Pool A with Canada, France and Tonga. Fiji, the winner of the inaugural Wellington tournament in 2000 has been drawn in Pool B with China, England and the USA. Australia, Cook Islands, Japan and South Africa will compete in Pool C, while Argentina, Papua New Guinea, Samoa and Wales will play in Pool D.

The Wellington tournament is the third leg of the ten-round IRB World Sevens Series. New Zealand won the first two legs of the Series, held in Durban and Dubai, in December 2000.

A final public release of 7,000 two-day tournament tickets will go on sale from Ticketek outlets in New Zealand on Tuesday 16 January. These tickets are all that remain for the tournament after 50% of Wellington Rugby's season ticket holders exercised their right to purchase sevens tickets.

Tournament Director Nick Jordan said demand for the remaining tickets is expected to be very strong after the initial public sale of 10,000 tickets sold out within four days.

"A large number of fans missed out on the initial release of tickets because they sold out so quickly. Basically, if you want to get down to the sevens in Wellington this year, the tickets that go on sale on Tuesday are your last chance," he said.

Tournament draw: Telecom 2GO International Sevens

Pool A : New Zealand, Canada, France, Tonga.

Pool B : Fiji, China, England , USA.

Pool C : Australia, Cook Islands, Japan, South Africa.

Pool D : Argentina, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Wales.

Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.