Five new faces for Glasgow
January 29, 2001

Glasgow will field five newcomers to district rugby in the 121st Inter-City match against Edinburgh at Hughenden tomorrow [Tuesday].

Four of the new faces are in the backs - Alan Williamson at full back, Richard Good on the left wing, Alan Gibbon and Ricky Munday at centre. In the pack, Good's Ayr colleague, Eddy Manawaiti, steps up at No.8.

John Shaw, the former West of Scotland flanker now with Currie, has returned to Glasgow with whom he played two seasons of European rugby between 1996 and 1998.

Two of Shaw's colleagues in tomorrow's match, which is the first in this season's Inter-District Championship, Cameron Little and Guy Perrett, also played for Glasgow in those first two seasons of professional rugby. Perrett will captain the team.

Another of the Glasgow players, Carlo di Ciacca, Perrett's West of Scotland club colleague, has played for Glasgow Caledonians in the Heineken Cup this season in the absence of the professional team's contracted hookers.

Glasgow and Edinburgh will meet tomorrow also in an under-20 district championship match at Millbrae, Ayr. Both matches kick off at 7.00pm.

Glasgow team v Edinburgh, Inter-District Championship
Hughenden, Tuesday 30 January, kick-off 7pm

15 Alan Williamson (West of Scotland); 14 Murray Scott (Glasgow Hawks), 13 Alan Gibbon (West of Scotland), 12 Ricky Munday (Glasgow Hawks), 11 Richard Good (Ayr); 10 Cameron Little (Glasgow Hawks), 9 Kenny Sinclair (Glasgow Hawks); 1 Alistair Cowan (Dalziel), 2 Carlo di Ciacca (West of Scotland), 3 Andrew Welsh (East Kilbride), 4 Rory McKay (Glasgow Hawks), 5 Guy Perrett (West of Scotland) captain, 6 Richard Maxton (Stewart's Melville FP), 8 Eddy Manawaiti (Ayr), 7 John Shaw (Currie)

Replacements - 16 Simon Petrie (Glasgow Hawks), 17 Colin Bartwicki (East Kilbride), 18 Iain Monaghan (Currie), 19 Grant Howieson (Glasgow Hawks), 20 Ian Smith (Glasgow Hawks), 21 Gordon Sykes (Ayr), 22 Chris Docherty (Glasgow Hawks).

Glasgow Under-20 v Edinburgh Under-20
Millbrae, Ayr, Tuesday 30 January, kick-off 7pm

15 Alastair Little (Whitecraigs); 14 Graham Thomson (West of Scotland), 13 Jamie Kerr (West of Scotland), 12 Neil Tweedie (Watsonians), 11 Graeme Fisher (Whitecraigs); 10 Fraser Sinclair (East Kilbride), 9 Michael Goldie (Ayr); 1 David Wilson (Edinburgh University), 2 Steve McManus (Dalziel), 3 Grant Ruxton (Garnock), 4 Ross Kitson (Whitecraigs), 5 Stuart Orr (Strathendrick), 6 Gillon Armstrong (Ardrossan Academicals), 8 Jamie Little (Dumfries), 7 Greg Francis (Glasgow Hawks)

Replacements - 16 Stuart Carson (Ardrossan Academicals), 17 Stuart Bartwicki (Stewart's Melville FP), 18 Stuart Henderson (Whitecraigs), 19 Douglas McCorkell (Kilmarnock), 20 Alan Hunter (Glasgow Southern), 21 Matthew Manson (Hillhead-Jordanhill), 22 Gideon Hunter (Wigtownshire)

Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.

  • Football

  • Cricket

  • Rugby

    • Days
    • Hrs
    • Mins
    • Secs

    F1 - Mexican GP

  • OtherLive >>

    Darts - Premier League
    Golf - Houston Open
    Snooker - China Open
    Tennis - Miami Open