Windies pitched into Hong Kong sevens
Hong Kong Sevens
February 6, 2001

The Hong Kong Sevens this year will feature a team from the West Indies for the first time it has been confirmed today.

The inclusion takes the number of teams in the tournament to 24, the biggest sevens event in the world and the most prestigious on the seven circuit.

The IRB accepted a combined West Indies' application back in November after deciding that the individual Caribbean unions were not strong enough.

A team from Russial could also be in the competition that kicks of on March 30 and runs for three days attracting over 700,000 spectators.

Reigning champions New Zealand will defend their title at the Hong Kong Stadium with 150,000 US dollars total prize money up for grabs.

Hong Kong Sevens line-up: Arabian Gulf, Argentina, Australia, Canada, China, Chinese Taipei, England, Fiji, France, Hong Kong, Japan, Korea, Malaysia, New Zealand, Portugal, Russia (tbc), Samoa, Singapore, Sri Lanka, South Africa, Thailand, USA, Wales and the West Indies.

Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.