IRB announce new awards scheme
April 4, 2001

The International Rugby Board have announced they intend to establish an awards scheme that will reward excellence in the sport.

The details were revealed following the Annual Meeting of the International Rugby Board Council, which concluded yesterday in Copenhagen.

The Awards, which will be presented at a ceremony, the date and venue of which will be announced soon, will include the following categories:

  • International Team of the Year
  • International Player of the Year
  • International Coach of the Year
  • International Development Award
  • Women's International Award
  • Spirit of Rugby Award
  • IRB Distinguished Service Award

    In addition to the awards the IRB will also assume responsibility for future editions of the Annual Yearbook which, under the banner of sponsorship of Rothmans, was published between 1972 - 1999.

    Subject to agreeing terms, Harper Collins, with its world wide distribution network, will be the publishers of the Yearbook, and the announcement of a new sponsor will be made shortly. The Yearbook will be launched in October to coincide with the northern hemisphere's autumn internationals.

    Other results of the meeting included the adoption of temporary suspension - widely known as the 'Sin Bin' - into the Laws of the Game; the continuation of the Television Match Official; and the lifting of restrictions on the colour of players' headgear.

    Also, a Working Party, comprising Council Members Bernard Lapasset, Geoff Evans, Carlos Tozzi, Alan Sharp, as well as David Rutherford of the New Zealand Rugby Football Union, will meet to consider the criteria currently applying to the Tours and Tournaments schedule.

    "Player burn-out is a very real issue and will be one of the matters under consideration by the Working Party, following two years of experience with the schedule," said the Committee Chairman Bernard Lapasset.

  • Live Sports

    Communication error please reload the page.