Nominations for World Player of the Year
September 20, 2001

The International Rugby Board has announced the five nominees for the prestigious International Player of the Year' to be announced at the Awards Ceremony at the Mayfair Theatre in London on November 11th.

The nominees who have been voted by a distinguished international panel are: George Gregan (Australia), Brian O'Driscoll (Ireland), George Smith (Australia), Jonny Wilkinson (England) and Keith Wood (Ireland).

The judging panel are: Gerald Davies - Convener, Paul Ackford, Sean Fitzpatrick, Simon Poidevin, Hugo Porta, Gareth Rees, Philippe Sella, Fergus Slattery, David Sole and Chester Williams.

The panel will also judge the following categories:

  • International Team of the Year,

  • International Coach of the Year,

  • International Young Player of the Year
  • International Sevens Team of the Year.

    Amongst the other categories are: International Women's Player of the Year, Referee Award for Distinguished Service, Spirit of Rugby Award, IRB Distinguished Service Award, IRB Development Award and Chairman's Awards.

    Like the Oscars the winner of the award will not be known until the night of the ceremony. Waterford Crystal have designed the Award to encapsulate the uniqueness of Rugby Union and will be presented to each winner on the night.

    The Awards ceremony will coincide with the presence of the world's leading teams, players and coaches. Amongst those attending what promises to be a memorable occasion, are - Australia, Argentina, England, France, Ireland, Italy, New Zealand, Samoa, Scotland, South Africa, Tonga and Wales.

  • Live Sports

    Communication error please reload the page.