Canterbury retain the Shield again
October 20, 2001

Canterbury have retained the Ranfurly Shield once again with their latest 52-19 NPC victory over Waikato at Jade Stadium.

Canterbury led the first half 24 - 6, running in 3 tries by Norm Maxwell, Aaron Mauger and Caleb Ralph.

Canterbury's lead was boosted by 4 quick tries late in the second half, run in by Justin Marshall, Leon MacDonald, Tone Kopelani, and Marika Vunibaka.

Andrew Mehrtens converted 3 tries in the first half and 1 penalty, adding another 8 points in the second half.

David Hill booted 3 penalties for Waikato and also ran in a try in the second half. Royce Willis ran in Waikato's first try.

Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.