Sevens dates announced
September 9, 2002

New Zealand will open their defence of the World Sevens series crown in Dubai in December.

This will be the fourth season of the World Series and there will be legs in five different continents. After Dubai the will be competitions in before trips to Africa South America, Australisia, Asia and Europe.

Releasing the dates Mark Egan, IRB Sevens Manager said: "The IRB Sevens, which follows the superb Commonwealth Games Rugby Sevens, promises an even higher level of competitiveness with close encounters proving that any one of 6 or 7 teams are capable of winning tournaments. Also the capacity for the less fancied sides to upset seeded teams has increased."

Dubai, Arabian Gulf Dec 6/7
South Africa Dec 13/14
Chile Jan 10/11
Brisbane Feb 1/2
Wellington Feb 7/8
Hong Kong March 28/29/30
Beijing April 5/6
Singapore April 26/27
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia May 3/4
London June 6/7
Cardiff June 14/15

Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.