Jack scoops two honours at NZ awards
October 30, 2002

Canterbury and All Black lock Chris Jack has been named New Zealand's Player of the Year at the Steinlager Awards ceremony in Auckland.

Jack also scooped the Super 12 Player of the year award while Waikato's Keith Lowen took the NPC 1st Division hounour.

For the top award, the Karl Tremain Trophy, Jack saw off the challenge of fellow All Blacks Doug Howlett and Richard McCaw.

The All Blacks' 7s squad was named the team of the year following their World Sevens Series and Commonwealth Games triupmhs.

Elsewhere, Crusaders coach and All Blacks assistant Robbie Deans was picked as coach of the year after guiding them to the Super 12 title.

This year also saw a new accolade for the Volunteer of the Year award that has been created to acknowledge the efforts of those who give their time for rugby's cause.

The awards ceremony was held at The Civic in Auckland on Wednesday night and were chosen by former All Blacks captains Sir Brian Lochore and Tane Norton, former All Blacks manager John Sturgeon and rugby scribe Bob Howitt.

The full list of wiiners and nominations for the 2002 Steinlager Rugby awards is:

Kel Tremain Memorial Trophy Player of the Year

  • Winner: Chris Jack (Canterbury/Crusaders/All Blacks)
    Also nominated: Doug Howlett (Auckland/Blues/All Blacks), Richard McCaw (Canterbury/Crusaders/All Blacks)

    Telecom Super 12 Player of the Year

  • Winner: Chris Jack (Crusaders)
    Also nominated: Simon Maling (Highlanders), Aaron Mauger (Crusaders)

    New Zealand rugby Coach of the Year

  • Robbie Deans (Crusaders/All Blacks)
    Also nominated: Daryl Suasua (Black Ferns), Gordon Tietjens (New Zealand Sevens)

    adidas Team of the Year

  • New Zealand Sevens
    Also nominated: All Blacks, Black Ferns, Crusaders, New Zealand Under-19

    Air New Zealand NPC Division One Player of the Year

  • Winner: Keith Lowen (Waikato)
    Also nominated: Rodney So'oialo (Wellington), Carlos Spencer (Auckland)

    Air New Zealand NPC Division Two Player of the Year

  • Winner: Setiveni Sivivatu (Counties-Manukau)
    Also nominated: Ray Karauria (Hawke's Bay), Hayden Pedersen (Marlborough)

    Air New Zealand NPC Division Three Player of the Year

  • Winner: Simon Porter (North Otago)
    Also nominated: Pila Fifita (North Otago), Craig Tansley (Horowhenua-Kapiti)

    New Zealand rugby Volunteer of the Year

  • Winner: John George (Taranaki)
    Also nominated: Paul Clegg (Taranaki), Barry Wilson (Waikato)

    NZRU Referee of the Year

  • Winner: Paddy O'Brien (Southland)
    Also nominated: Paul Honiss (Waikato), Steve Walsh (Auckland)

    Lion Foundation Cup Women's Player of the Year

  • Winner: Monique Hiravanaa (Black Ferns/Auckland Storm)
    Also nominated: Cheryl Heighway (Black Ferns/Auckland Storm), Cheryl Waaka (Black Ferns/Auckland Storm)

    Steinlager salver for an outstanding contribution to New Zealand rugby

  • Winner: Fred Allen

    Tom French Memorial Maori player of the year

  • Winner: Carlos Spencer

    Age-grade player of the year

  • Winner: Luke McAlister (North Harbour)

    Richard Crawshaw Memorial Sevens player of the year

  • Winner: Chris Masoe (Taranaki)

  • Live Sports

    Communication error please reload the page.

    • Football

    • Cricket

    • Rugby

      • Days
      • Hrs
      • Mins
      • Secs

      F1 - Mexican GP

    • OtherLive >>

      Boxing - Nelson v Wilson; Simmons v Dickinson; Joshua v Gavern (Metro Radio Arena, Newcastle)
      Golf - Houston Open
      Snooker - China Open
      Tennis - Miami Open