Teams confirmed for Dubai 7s
November 10, 2002

The amateur players of the Arabian Gulf will join 15 of the world's top rugby nations when the Emirates Airline Dubai Rugby 7's launches the International Rugby Board Sevens season from December 5-7.

The final line-up of teams was announced last night and it confirms that Dubai will be hosting one of the strongest rugby 7's tournaments ever staged.

England, Fiji, Australia, Canada and Argentina return after missing out on last year following the events of September 11, and France and Italy will also be heading back to the Middle East after an absence of several years.

And more good news for Dubai is the confirmation that world champions New Zealand and world series runners-up South Africa will be back after enthralling last year's record crowds with some masterful performances.

Gary Chapman, Chief Director Support and Development, Emirates Airline, said: "The line-up is very much a who's who of world 7's rugby and we can expect to see a tournament of the highest quality next month."

Wales and Samoa will be keen to make a good impression in Dubai after a disappointing 2001/02 season, while the Arabian Gulf will be hoping to upset the likes of Morocco, Namibia, Kenya and Sri Lanka as they bid to win their first ever pool match at the Emirates Airline Dubai Rugby 7's.

While the main focus will be on the chase for the Emirates International Trophy on Pitch One, the social, veterans, women's and youth tournaments will consist of over 100 teams playing 280 matches on Pitches Two and Three to create a three-day rugby carnival.

Teams confirmed for the Dubai 7's: Australia, Arabian Gulf, Argentina, New Zealand, England, Wales, Fiji, South Africa, Samoa, France, Canada, Kenya, Italy, Sri Lanka, Namibia, Morocco.

Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.

  • Football

  • Cricket

  • Rugby

    • Days
    • Hrs
    • Mins
    • Secs

    F1 - Monaco GP

  • OtherLive >>

    Snooker - China Open
    Tennis - Miami Open