Galthie named IRB Player of the Year
January 26, 2003

The IRB Player of the Year Award, in association with Heineken, has been won by Fabien Galthié, on a memorable night for French rugby.

Galthié headed a prestigious list of winners of this year's IRB International Rugby Awards, held at the Landmark Hotel in London.

Picture: France's Fabien Galthie in acton against Ireland last year.

The Awards ceremony was attended by some of the biggest names in rugby past and present, including last years winner Keith Wood, Brian O'Driscoll, Scott Quinell, Bill McLaren and Gareth Edwards.

Galthié led his team superbly during France's Six Nations Grand Slam in 2002, an achievement that also saw France pick up the Team of the Year Award and Bernard Laporte the accolade for Coach of the Year.

South Africa centre Pat Barnard received the Under 21 player of the Year Award, in association with Waterford Crystal, whilst Luke McAlister - New Zealand's outstanding talent at fly-half - won the Under 19 award.

Commentator Bill McLaren was recognised for his outstanding services to rugby with a Chairman's Award and the Spirit of Rugby Award went to the old Christian Club Montevideo 30 years after the tragic plane crash in the Andes.

Last year, to mark the occasion, the survivors who have retained their love of the game, played the match that should have been played 30 years ago. Roberto Cannessa, who walked for 11 days in search of help, and another one of the survivors, Gustavo Zerbino, were present to receive the Award.

Full list of winners

IRB Referee Award for Distinguished Service: Colin Hawke

IRB Development Award: John Broadfoot

IRB Distinguished Services Award: Allan Hosie

Chairman's Awards: Bill Mclaren, George Pippos (posthumously)

IRB Spirit of Rugby Award: Old Christians Rugby Club

IRB Women's Player of the Year: Monique Hirovanaa (New Zealand)

IRB Under 19 Player of the Year: Luke McAlister (New Zealand)

Under 21 Player of the Year, in association with Waterford Crystal: Pat Barnard (South Africa)

IRB International Sevens Team of the Year: New Zealand

IRB International Coach of the Year: Bernard Laporte (France)

IRB International Team of the Year: France

IRB Player of the Year, in association with Heineken: Fabien Galthié (France)

Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.

  • Football

  • Cricket

  • Rugby

    • Days
    • Hrs
    • Mins
    • Secs

    F1 - Mexican GP

  • OtherLive >>

    Darts - Premier League
    Golf - Houston Open
    Snooker - China Open
    Tennis - Miami Open