Chiefs development squad announced
January 19, 2004

Twenty-seven players from Bay of Plenty, Waikato, Counties and King Country make up the Chiefs Development Squad.

Chiefs Development Squad coach Vern Cotter says there is an interesting mixture of experience within the squad.

Cotter says it will be great to see a number of the squad's national age-group players having the opportunity to play first class rugby alongside the likes of Kevin Senio, David Briggs and Api Naevo.

In his first season as Chiefs Development team coach, Cotter says he's excited with the challenge ahead of him in this new coaching role.

Cotter has worked closely with Chiefs coach Ian Foster in selecting the players, which make up the squad. With Cotter adding Foster's input is crucial for the future development of players within the Chiefs franchise.

Bay of Plenty has 15 players represented in the squad including hooker Aleki Lutui and half-back Kevin Senio; Waikato has nine players represented including prop David Briggs and winger Sosene Anesi; and Counties have two players represented being prop James Afoa and former Chief lock/loose forward Api Naauvo. King Country has one representative in the Chiefs Development Squad in first five-eighth/fullback Tim Manawatu.

Experienced Bay of Plenty campaigner and number eight Paul Tupai will captain the Chiefs Development team. Tupai has played 99 games for Bay of Plenty.

Cotter says Tupai is the right kind of player to steer and encourage the development team players.

The Chiefs Development team has three pre-season games and four competition games scheduled for their 2004 campaign. Their first match of the season is a pre-season match against the Hurricanes Development team on Friday 30 January at 5.00pm in Taupo.

The 2004 Chiefs Development Squad is:

James Afoa (Counties), Sosene Anesi (Waikato), David Briggs (Waikato), Stephen Donald (Waikato), Taufa'ao Filise (Bay of Plenty), Dan Goodwin (Bay of Plenty), Ray Isara (Bay of Plenty), David Johnston (Waikato), Nili Latu (Bay of Plenty), Tikoru Luteru (Bay of Plenty), Aleki Lutui (Bay of Plenty), Wayne McEntee (Waikato), Tim Manawatu (King Country), John Moore (Bay of Plenty), Api Naevo (Counties), Kyle O'Brien (Bay of Plenty), John Pareanga (Waikato), Kevin Senio (Bay of Plenty), Steven Setephano (Waikato), Apoua Stewart (Bay of Plenty), Dwayne Sweeney (Waikato), Anthony Tahana (Bay of Plenty), Paul Tupai (Bay of Plenty), Kyle Uerata (Bay of Plenty), Bernie Upton (Bay of Plenty), Craig West (Waikato), Tom Woods (Bay of Plenty).

Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.