Barbarians pick star-studded side
March 16, 2004

The Barbarians have included nine internationals in their squad for the annual Mobbs Memorial Match against East Midlands at Franklin's Gardens in Northampton on Wednesday.

The international contingent includes former Scotland winger Kenny Logan and his compatriot prop Mattie Stewart who will be returning to his old stamping ground following his summer move from Northampton Saints to Bedford.

The other internationals in the starting line-up are Scotland full-back Stuart Moffatt, Wales centre Andy Marinos, Canadian prop Rod Snow, Fijian number eight Alfred Vakacokavanua and Wales centre Jamie Robinson. Robinson will line up alongside his brother Nicky who will make his debut at fly-half.

There are two internationals on the bench, Dan Baugh of Canada and Pieter Muller of South Africa.

Cambridge University scrum-half Ben Dormer and Orrell flanker Alex Bennett are the other new Barbarians in the starting line-up. Ed Orgee, the Pertemps Bees captain, will miss his first appearance for the invitation side having cracked ribs in the Powergen Cup semi-final defeat by Newcastle Falcons last Sunday.

Exeter skipper Rob Baxter replaces Orgee in the second row with Peter Taylor of Harrogate, who made his Barbarians debut in the win over Combined Services at Aldershot in November, coming onto the bench.

Barbarians: 15 Stuart Moffatt (Glasgow and Scotland); 14 Kenny Logan (London Wasps and Scotland), 13 Andy Marinos (Gwent and Wales), 12 Jamie Robinson (Cardiff and Wales), 11 Nick Baxter (Pertemps Bees); 10 Nick Robinson (Cardiff), 9 Ben Dormer (Cambridge University and Otago); 1 Rod Snow (Gwent and Canada), 2 Chris Johnson (Rotherham), 3 Mattie Stewart (Bedford and Scotland), 4 Paul Evans (Wharfedale), 5 Rob Baxter (Exeter Chiefs), 6 Alex Bennett (Orrell), 7 Jason Forster (Gwent), 8 Alfred Vakacokavanua (Army and Fiji). Replacements: Steve Jones (Gwent), Danny Porte (Exeter Chiefs), Peter Taylor (Harrogate and RAF), Dan Baugh (Cardiff and Canada), Graham Cowe (Kelso), Pieter Muller (Cardiff and South Africa), Jason Wright (Cambridge University).

Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.