IRB announce referee appointments
April 21, 2004

The IRB have announced the details of their referee appointments for test rugby up to the end of the summer.

The eagerly awaited World Cup final re-match between Australia and England will be under the control of the experienced New Zealand official Paddy O'Brien.

O'Brien is one of 16 referees on the IRB's 'A' list , while his fellow countryman Lyndon Bray is included on the 'B' list for the first time. Bray will take charge of his first test when Tonga meets Fiji on June 5th.

For the first time, a 'C' list has also been created - with these up and coming referees given the chance to develop further as touch judges and television match officials.

IRB Referees A Panel
Andrew Cole, Australia
Donal Courtney, Ireland
Stuart Dickinson, Australia
Paul Honiss, New Zealand
Joel Jutge, France
Jonathon Kaplan, South Africa
Mark Lawrence, South Africa
Alan Lewis Ireland
Paddy O'Brien, New Zealand
Alain Rolland, Ireland
Tony Spreadbury, England
Steve Walsh, New Zealand
Andre Watson, South Africa
Chris White, England
Nigel Williams, Wales
Scott Young, Australia

IRB Referees B Panel
Lyndon Bray, New Zealand
Kelvin Deaker, New Zealand
Giulio De Santis, Italy
Rob Dickson, Scotland
Tappe Henning, South Africa
Andy Turner, South Africa
Nigel Whitehouse, Wales

IRB Referees C Panel
Christophe Berdos, France
Brett Bowden, Australia
David Changleng, Scotland
Malcolm Changleng, Scotland
Carlo Damasco, Italy
Eric Darriere, France
Matt Goddard, Australia
Craig Joubert, South Africa
Bryce Lawrence, New Zealand
Simon Mc Dowell, Ireland
Roy Maybank, England
Nigel Owens, Wales
David Pearson, England
Shaun Veldsman, South Africa
Hugh Watkins, Wales

For the full list of Referee appointments for each game check out the details on the IRB website

Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.