New faces start for the Brumbies
January 26, 2005

Brumbies Head Coach Laurie Fisher has announced a 26-man team to face the Queensland Reds in their opening trial match this Saturday at Ballymore.

A total of eight debutants have been including speedy outside backs Adam Ashley-Cooper, Eddie McLaughlin and fullback Ben Batger. 2003 Australian Schoolboys co-captains Julian Salvi and Tatafu Polota-Nau will also make their first senior appearances for the Brumbies.

Promising Canberra Vikings flyhalf Sam Norton-Knight will make his return to rugby after missing the entire 2004 season with injury. The talented flyhalf played two senior matches for the Brumbies in 2003 against Fiji and Tonga and has rejoined the team in 2005.

Wallabies Nic Henderson, Radike Samo and Mark Chisholm have also been named to gain some important match practice after seeing limited playing time on the tour to Europe.

2004 Super 12 Final skipper Owen Finegan will captain the team in the absence of regular captain Stirling Mortlock. "With the Wallaby players unavailable for this trial it gives some of the guys who have been training with the team throughout the entire preseason to show their wares," said the 81-game Super 12 veteran.

"There are a few new faces in the team and there's plenty of excitement coming up to our first trail," he said.
"We were beaten in all three of our trial matches last year but I feel this year we're a bit further down the track in terms of our team play at this stage of the pre-season. We're looking to perform well in the trials but the emphasis is on the individual core skills of the players, not so much the score-line at the end of the game."

"We need to start the season well with some positive trial form and carry it through to the season opener against the Crusaders."

Brumbies Team:
1. Nic Henderson
2. David Palavi
3. Guy Shepherdson
4. Alister Campbell
5. Radike Samo
6. Owen Finegan (c)
7. Julian Salvi
8. Scott Fava
9. Matt Henjak
10. Sam Norton-Knight
11. Lenny Beckett
12. Gene Fairbanks
13. Adam Ashley-Cooper
14. Eddie McLaughlin
15. Ben Batger
Reserves: Digby Beaumont, Luke Burgess, Tamaiti Horua, Mark Chisholm, Adam Wallace-Harrison, David Fitter, Patrick Phibbs, Simon Hockings, Tatafu Polota-Nau, Anthony Faingaa, Alexander Peden

Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.