Wallabies make changes for Springboks clash
August 17, 2005

The Wallabies have made four personnel changes to the starting lineup for Saturday's Test against South Africa in Perth, with Brendan Cannon, Phil Waugh and Elton Flatley all starting for the first time this season, and Rocky Elsom returning to the run on side.

Elsom, who made his Test debut this season, and started in the first five Tests of the year, comes in at the expense of John Roe at blindside flanker, while Waugh will get his chance in the Number 7 openside flanker jersey with George Smith dropping back to the reserves.

In the front row, hooker Cannon will start alongside Bill Young and Al Baxter, replacing the injured Jeremy Paul, with fellow hooker Stephen Moore coming onto the bench.

The backline has also seen personnel and two positional changes with a number of players unavailable through injury.

Elton Flatley will start at flyhalf and Matt Giteau is fit and will play inside centre, linking up with Morgan Turinui at outside.

In the outside backs, Drew Mitchell will hold onto the Number 15 jersey after a good performance at fullback against the All Blacks, and Mark Gerrard will also keep his place on the wing.

Mat Rogers will add plenty of experience to 22 after returning from a knee injury, while Clyde Rathbone and Chris Whitaker make up the remainder of the back reserves.

Qantas Wallaby Coach Eddie Jones says it has been a quick turn around this week and the team is looking forward to getting over to Perth.

"We've had to make some changes to the starting team due to injury, and monitor a couple of guys in the first part of the week, but the team has prepared well over the last three days," said Jones.

"Matty Rogers has trained confidently over the last couple of days and with Drew Mitchell and Mark Gerrard performing well against the All Blacks, he'll give us plenty of depth on the bench, along with Clyde Rathbone."

"Matt Giteau has also overcome his injury and is right to play. He will lineup at inside centre with Elton Flatley starting at 10 for the first time this year."

The Qantas Wallabies will fly to Perth tonight before finalising preparations with a session at Subicao Oval on Friday.

Venue: Subiaco Oval, Perth
Date: Saturday 20 August 2005
Kick off: 6.00pm (8.00pm AEST)
Referee: Alain Rolland

AUSTRALIAN Team for Wallaby Test No. 447

Bill Young
Brendan Cannon
Al Baxter
Daniel Vickerman
Nathan Sharpe (vc)
Rocky Elsom
Phil Waugh
David Lyons
George Gregan (c)
Elton Flatley
Lote Tuqiri
Matt Giteau
Morgan Turinui
Mark Gerrard
Drew Mitchell

Stephen Moore
Matt Dunning
Mark Chisholm
George Smith
Chris Whitaker
Clyde Rathbone
Matt Rogers

23rd Man: John Roe

Unavailable for Selection due to injury:

Wendell Sailor, Stephen Larkham, Jeremy Paul, Chris Latham and Stirling Mortlock

Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.