IRB announce Referee appointments
September 7, 2005

The IRB has announced the match official appointments for the 22 international matches to be played this November in Europe and Argentina as well as the 2006 Six Nations next February and March.

The appointments were made by the IRB Referee Selection Committee after a comprehensive review of referee performance. From that review the composition of the three IRB Match Official Panels was determined.

Match appointments to A, B and C level international matches are made from the 31 referees on these Panels. The A Panel is for those referees considered capable of refereeing A level internationals; the B Panel for those who are capable of refereeing B internationals and who are aspiring A Panel referees; the C Panel for those aspiring A Panel referees with sufficient time in their refereeing career to make that level, and who also benefit from participating in major internationals.

Wales' Nigel Williams is no longer on the A Panel having recently retired from refereeing. England's Dave Pearson has been promoted to the A Panel from the B Panel. There are currently 16 referees on the A panel.

On the B Panel New Zealand's Bryce Lawrence has been promoted from the C Panel. There are currently seven referees on the B Panel.

Australia's George Ayoub and South Africa's Marius Jonker have been promoted to the C Panel that presently comprises eight referees.

For all the November appointments click here
For the Six Nations appointments click here

Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.

  • Football

  • Cricket

  • Rugby

    • Days
    • Hrs
    • Mins
    • Secs

    F1 - Mexican GP

  • OtherLive >>

    Snooker - China Open
    Tennis - Miami Open