Four uncapped players in Ireland squad.
October 25, 2005

The Ireland squad for their November Internationals includes fouruncapped players.

In the forwards, Ulster backrow player Neil Best earns his first call up to the Ireland squad, as does young Leinster No.8 Jamie Heaslip. In the backs, Ulster centre Andrew Trimble sees his good form in his first full season with Ulster rewarded with a place in the squad, while Robert Kearney, who has also made a huge impact for Leinster is also included.

Commenting on the new inclusions in the squad, Ireland Coach Eddie O'Sullivan said, "The backrow is again an area where competition is high. Both Jamie (Heaslip) and Neil (Best) have impressed in their performances so far this season. Andrew Trimble has also slotted in well with Ulster and has benefited from their good run.

There are two main injury concerns for the Ireland Management, with Paul O'Connell's hand injury and Simon Easterby's broken nose awaiting fitness tests to determine their participation. Ireland Coach Eddie O'Sullivan said, "The cast on Paul's (O'Connell) hand is due to come off today and we will wait and see what the specialist says. Simon Easterby suffered a broken nose and was operated on at the weekend, so again we will wait and see what the medical opinion is on his availability".

He continued, "The injury rate at this point of the season has been high and with three Lions players out injured, as well as fitness tests pending on two others, this impacts on the experience in the squad considerably. At the same time, this creates opportunities for other players in the squad to step forward".

Forwards (18):
Neil Best (Ulster), Simon Best (Ulster), Shane Byrne (Saracens), Reggie Corrigan (Leinster), Leo Cullen (Leicester), **Simon Easterby (Llanelli), Anthony Foley (Munster), John Hayes (Munster), Jamie Heaslip (Leinster), Marcus Horan (Munster), Matt McCullough (Ulster), Denis Leamy (Munster), Donncha O'Callaghan (Munster), **Paul O'Connell (Munster), Johnny O'Connor (Wasps), Malcolm O'Kelly (Leinster), Frankie Sheahan (Munster), David Wallace (Munster).

Backs (14):
Tommy Bowe (Ulster), Kieran Campbell (Ulster), Gordon D'Arcy (Leinster), Girvan Dempsey (Leinster), Shane Horgan (Leinster), David Humphreys (Ulster), Robert Kearney (Leinster), Kieran Lewis (Leinster), Geordan Murphy (Leicester), Ronan O'Gara (Cork Constitution), David Quinlan (Northampton), Peter Stringer (Munster), Andrew Trimble (Ulster), A.N. Other.

Not considered though injury: Guy Easterby (Leinster), Denis Hickie (Leinster), Eric Miller (Leinster), Brian O'Driscoll (Leinster), Alan Quinlan (Munster),

** = Subject to passing a fitness test.

Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.