Jones names youthful team for Twickenham
November 10, 2005

The Wallabies have made four personnel and one positional change to their starting lineup for Saturday's Test against England at Twickenham , while there are also two uncapped players drafted onto the bench

Australia, who are skippered by veteran scrum half George Gregan, boast eight players aged 23 years or younger with reserve hooker Tatafu Polota-Nau set to make his debut at just 20 years-of-age.

In the forwards, 22-year-old lock Hugh McMeniman will start in a Test match for the first time, at the expense of Mark Chisholm who moves to the bench , while at Flanker John Roe returns in place of Rocky Elsom.

Elsom's place in the squad will be taken by Scott Fava, who like Polota-Nau will be looking to make his Test debut after being a member of the Wallaby squad all season.

Changes to the backline see Mat Rogers come into the flyhalf position, and Matt Giteau move to the bench, while Drew Mitchell and Mark Gerrard will start on either wing and Wendell Sailor out of the 22.

Wallaby Coach Eddie Jones says there were a number of tough selections to make this week, with the purpose of picking the best team for Saturday's Test against England.

"We've picked the best 22 for this Test," said Jones. "Mat Rogers deserves another opportunity to start at flyhalf after a good performance against New Zealand and then finishing the game there last week," said Jones. "With Rogers at 10 and Morgan Turinui at inside centre, Matt Giteau will give us plenty of flexibility off the bench."

"With Wendell Sailor it was a lineball selection with him and Mark Gerrard in the Test against France, but we feel with Gerrard's kicking game he probably gives us just a bit more flexibility on the right wing."

"As for the new caps, Tatafu has done well on tour, and with another week's training, off the back of his performance for Australia A, we feel he's ready for an opportunity this week. Scott Fava has also worked extremely hard on a number of areas of his game, he played well for Australia A and thoroughly deserves his selection."

C Latham (Queensland); M Gerrard (ACT), L Tuqiri (NSW), M Turinui (NSW), D Mitchell (Queensland; M Rogers (NSW), G Gregan (ACT, capt); M Dunning (NSW), B Cannon (WA), A Baxter (NSW), N Sharpe (WA), H McMeniman (Queensland), J Roe (Queensland), P Waugh (NSW), G Smith (ACT).

Replacements: T Polata-Nau (NSW), G Holmes (Queensland), M Chisholm (ACT), S Fava (WA), C Whitaker (NSW), M Giteau (ACT), L Johannson (Queensland).

Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.