RFU council approves expansion of National League One
March 17, 2006

The Rugby Football Union Council today supported a resolution submitted by First Division Rugby to increase the size of National League One next season.

The resolution read: "That with effect in season 2006-07 National League One shall comprise 16 clubs. To achieve this at the end of season 2005-06 no clubs will be relegated from national League One for this season only and two clubs will be promoted as usual from National League Two."

Council voted 44 to two in favour of the resolution with one abstention.

Promotion in the National Leagues is not affected by today's Council decision, as outlined in the summary below.

The team finishing top of National One is promoted to the Guinness Premiership and the teams finishing 13th and 14th will not be relegated at the end of the 2005/06 season.
The top two teams in National Two are promoted, teams finishing 12th and 13th are now not relegated, the team finishing 14th is relegated.
The top team in both National Three North and National Three South is promoted. The teams finishing second in each division play-off for the final place in National Two
The top teams in South West One, London One are promoted into National Three South and the top teams in Midlands One and North One are promoted into National Three North. The teams in 11th and 12th place in SW1, L1, M1 and N1 are relegated along with two of the four teams finishing in 10th place decided on playing record.

The current promotion/relegation set-up between the Guinness Premiership and National League One is not affected by today's Council decision. The current one-up, one-down system is in place until June 2009 under the terms of the Long Form Agreement between the Rugby Football Union and Premier Rugby Limited.

Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.

  • Football

  • Cricket

  • Rugby

    • Days
    • Hrs
    • Mins
    • Secs

    F1 - Mexican GP

  • OtherLive >>

    Darts - Premier League
    Golf - Houston Open
    Snooker - China Open
    Tennis - Miami Open