O'Connell grabs Irish Player Of The Year award
May 4, 2006

Munster & Ireland giant Paul O'Connell, was last night voted the BT IRUPA Players' Player of the Year by his fellow players at the 4th annual BT IRUPA Rugby Players' Awards Dinner. Ulster giant Jeremy Davidson was also amongst those honoured on the night when he was inducted into the IRUPA Hooke & MacDonald Hall of Fame.

O'Connell was delighted to receive the award and said: "The season gets better and better for me both personally and for the teams I have played in.
This is the top rugby award in Ireland and I am delighted to have won it. I take great pleasure in winning this award as it comes from the very people I play with and against week in week out."

The awards were held to celebrate a year of individual achievements in Irish rugby in what was another successful season which saw Ireland win the Triple Crown for the second time in two years, Munster reaching the final of the Heineken Cup & three of the four provinces fighting to win the Celtic League title.

"What makes these awards so special is that they are voted for by the players from the four provinces. Congratulations to all those nominated and in particular to Paul O'Connell, Neil Best, Shane Horgan, Jeremy Davidson and Andrew Trimble in winning what are the most sought after awards in Irish rugby," commented Niall Woods, Chief Executive of IRUPA.

The awards were made in the presence of some of the game's most well-known names including Ireland & Lions Captain Brian O'Driscoll, Gordan D'Arcy, Felipe Contepomi, Anthony Foley & Malcolm O'Kelly.

Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.