Students go with youth and experience for Shute Shield Final
May 25, 2006

It will be a day of milestones for Sydney University on Saturday when the defending Tooheys New Cup premiers line up against old rival Eastwood in the Shute Shield Final at TG Millner Field.

University number eight and former Australian Schools captain Pat McCutcheon will make his first grade debut in the decider, while seasoned campaigner Michael Griffin will play his 200th first grade game for the Students.

McCutcheon, part of Australia's victorious Under 19 World Cup squad earlier this year and a current member of the NSW Waratah Academy, has been called into action following Dave Haydon's selection in the Australian Under 21 squad.

Skipper David Haigh shifts from number eight to openside, clearing the way for McCutcheon to make his debut.

Griffin meanwhile will be looking for a similar type of performance to the one he produced the last time the Students faced Eastwood in a Grand Final, the veteran crossing for two tries in the 2005 Tooheys New Cup decider at Aussie Stadium.

Eastwood will be without their Waratah pairing of Josh Holmes and Leroy Houston, both of whom are in camp with the Australian Under 21's.

The Woods however have recalled an imposing trio of stars in prop Matt Dunning, centre Winston Mafi and back rower Gareth Palamo.

Joining the newcomers in the starting side is scrumhalf Ben Wakely, a new recruit from Queensland.

Uni's bench has been boosted by the return to club colours of 2005 flyhalf and Waratah Daniel Halangahu, however talented youngster Dan Kelly Junior has hung onto the starting number 10 jersey.

Saturday's match is due to kick off at 3.10pm, with live coverage on ABC TV from 3 o'clock.


Eastwood v Sydney University

TG Millner Field, Saturday 27 May, 3.10pm

EASTWOOD: 1. Matt Dunning 2. Chris Hill 3. Aaron Broughton-Rouse 4. Anthony Reed 5. Ben Hand 6. Hugh Perrett 7. Will Brame 8. Gareth Palamo 9. Ben Wakely 10. Tim Donnelly [c] 11. Filipo Toala 12. Tim Corcoran 13. Winston Mafi 14. Sione Puikala 15. Ben Batger Bench: Unavailable

SYDNEY UNIVERSITY: 1. Scott Cameron 2. Digby Beaumont 3. Laurie Weeks 4. Tom Egan 5. Lachlan McCutcheon 6. Dean Mumm 7. David Haigh 8. Pat McCutcheon 9. Nick Haydon 10. Dan Kelly Jnr. 11. Michael Griffin 12. Jack Farrer 13. Tom Carter 14. Nathan Trist 15. Nigel Staniforth Bench: 16. Josh Hately 17. Nick Hensley 18. Chris Sproats 19. David Foran 20. Tim Cohen 21. Daniel Halangahu 22. Joey Phillippe

Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.